585,744 active members*
4,136 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > Moldmaking > Beginner moldmaking questions

Beginner moldmaking questions

I haven't made a mold yet, but I plan to get into it once I get my CNC machine (next 60 days). I have read a lot of stuff online about part design for molds and my background is mechanical engineering. I know about runners, drafts, radiused corners, gussets. etc. etc. There are a few gaps in my understanding of molding though that I hope someone can fill in for me.

First, what is the mold opening supposed to be like? (where the nozzle goes and injects the melt) Is it a taper? What are the specs of the taper? Does it vary by the machine? Is it just a taper or something more involved?

Second, its my understanding that the nozzle would move into the mold opening with each shot - am I wrong? As I understand, the mold closes, pressure is applied, the melt is injected, it holds while it cools, the nozzle retracts, then the mold opens and the part comes out. Or does the nozzle stay in the mold?

Third, is there any info on water cooled molds? Is it as simple as machining water channels in the back side of the mold, putting a plate over them with a gasket and running water lines? How is the mold cooled - would a leftover car radiator with a pump inline and an automotive 12 fan do? I know it's not "professional" but would that be in the ballpark or are we talking $50,000 chillers to accomplish cooling?

How do you determine the thermal aspects of the mold? I mean, if the mass of the mold was big and it radiated a lot of heat wouldn't it potentially not ever get to operating temp because it would cool faster than the shot of plastic heated it up? Or is this not a real concern?

How do you detemine how many tons machine you need to mold a part? Is there a rule of thumb? I want to make car tail light housings (eventually).