585,954 active members*
4,355 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

part setting issues.

Hello All

I am very new to cnc'ing and I think I am having trouble with setting up the machine before starting to mill. I have a EX plus series one, and can power up and home the axes etc.
    What would you guys do then? I centralise the axes with the jog button and then try and start programming. I have loaded a dxf programme from the A: drive and converted to .pgm, but when I try and load it i keep geeting error message saying axes limit, at a line in the programme that is cutting an arc. The part itself is no bigger than the palm of my hand so I dont know what is wrong.
    Is there a sequence that you really need to follow on these machines from powering up?

I must add I have built up this machine from parts, so do you think the motors and encoders are not set correctly?

Is there any books websites that can assist us newbies?

Thanks in advance

Steve

Setting up the ex Plus

Hello again Steve sorry I have not been in touch but you have learn't how to home the machine to the travel limits what you have to do now is set the X axis & the Y axis datum postions, so move the bed somewhere midway in both the X & Y axis and press the key for SET XYZ the sub menu then comes up for X enter 0.0 Y 0.0 and Z0.0, you will then notice that the DRO readings all read 0.000. Now load your test program and it should run OK, if not give me a ring on 01159389014. Cheers Colin

Quote Originally Posted by colin1544 View Post