585,712 active members*
3,895 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

I Keep Breaking 1mm bits

I am a total noob here to be honest!

I hand built my CNC machine and it works OK!

i have been using 1mm cut x 1mm shaft bits from world of cnc. i have been happy cutting 9mm MDF using these bits for the last year.

i just come to cut some 3mm MDF and i have broken 6 cutters in one sitting!

what am i doing wrong?

im using a Kress 800 milling machine

here is some pictures of my machine

my settings are feedrate 450ipm and plunge 300ipm and the kress set on full

i expect thats quite high

what am i doing wrong?

here is the cutters im using

http://www.worldofcnc.com/products.asp?recnumber=161

have i got the spindle speed too high?

i have brought down the plunge rate and the movment to less than 100ipm and still makes no difference

Quote Originally Posted by Cosha View Post
    my settings are feedrate 450ipm and plunge 300ipm and the kress set on full
    i expect thats quite high
    How did you decide to use those feedrates? How many RPM is your spindle. Yeah, I'd say you're feeding wayyyy too fast.

With little endmills like that, I can't imagine feeding faster than 0.002 inch per tooth and that's in a super soft material.

• At 0.002" X 2 flutes, that's 0.004" per revolution.
    • 0.004" per revolution X 20K RPM = 80 IPM.

That assumes that the spindle doesn't bog down. If it bogs at all, the chip load goes up and that just exacerbates the problem. For you to be feeding at 450 IPM, you'd need a 112K RPM spindle.

If your spindle is a 20K RPM, I'd start with 60 IPM feed and 30 IPM plunge.
    Greg

Thank-you for the reply!

The kress i have at full power idles at 30,000 RPM

i always thought it was running very fast, i was told to use this by someone at work that had been into cnc machines for a long long time!

i wasn't to know any different as i used the settings he told me to use and they have been cutting fine!