585,754 active members*
3,805 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Recommended SFM for 6061 milling/drilling

Recommended SFM for 6061 milling/drilling

Reason I am asking is because all of the "recommended" speeds and feeds are basically thrown out the window with the length of tools we use at our shop. I just started working at a new shop two weeks ago and I will be doing programming and some setup. I worked in a shop for years but we never had to use tools this small and long before, we rarely worked with aluminum either.

Anyways... Most of the parts we run are five inches thick and require a ton of roughing.

Basic rundown of the tools I've seen being used so far...

1" carbide endmill 2 flute
    3/4" carbide endmill 2 flute
    1/2" carbide endmill 2 flute
    1/2" carbide ball endmill 2 flute
    3/8" carbide ball endmill 2 flute
    1/4" carbide ball endmill 2 flute

All of the tools listed above are often sticking out by 3",4" and sometimes 5". Chatter is sooo bad.

They are using 6500 RPM at 50IPM with a DOC of .050" (with all of their tools) which sounds like **** while running... obviously. I've been telling them their chip load is not enough, but "thats the way they have always run" so they don't want to change anything...

With the given tools listed above, what SFM should I be using while calculating speeds/feeds (keep in mind the length of the tools)? Obviously we must run them differently compared to tools that are only sticking out an inch or two.

We also drill the back sides of the parts with a .201 jobber drill and it takes forever with the rpm/feed they are using. I don't remember off hand what they are though. What SFM would be best for this application? Length is really of no concern with this since there aren't any chatter/breakage issues, only gumming up the tool. Are there any drill mfg's that offer this size drill with thru tool coolant?