506,301 active members
2,877 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Has Anyone used G540 to control spindle speed on the X2?
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    33

    Has Anyone used G540 to control spindle speed on the X2?

    Trying to figure out the wiring

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    167
    You hoping to turn it on and off or control the RPM? If you hope to control the RPM I believe you will first have to setup an encoder on the spindle to get feedback to your computer.
    Rockcliff PE/Aluminum Router > 4'x8' CNC Router/Plasma > Manual DRO/CNC X2 > 4 Axis Syil SX3 and an Emco PC Mill 125

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    33
    I would like to do both. I thought mach3 will vary the speed once the min and max are input. Not as accurate as an encoder but should be close enough. I'm just interested in what to wire where to get started.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    30
    Interesting. I had picked up a relay to turn the spindle on and off but hadn't put any thought into letting mach3 control the RPM.
    Watching the thread for now.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    14

    Re: Has Anyone used G540 to control spindle speed on the X2?

    Did you ever get a wiring diagram for this?

    thanks

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    525

    Re: Has Anyone used G540 to control spindle speed on the X2?

    I looked into this some time back for a G0704 and finally gave up after not finding anything that worked at that time but since then there have been a few other options I've seen. Maybe you'll have better luck. If you change your motor and add a VFD, it's a fairly simple process and you can control on, off and rpm through the gcode or mach3/uccnc via screen buttons or basic mdi entry. I've never really looked into it very thoroughly, but one other possible option is that some breakout boards like the C11GS and others have analog connections to replace a potentiometer for DC motor speed control if the pot is 12v or less. (The X2 is 5v I believe). (you'll have to go to the CNC4PC website and get the manual to see the specifics). While this won't give and direct feedback allowing you to set a specific rpm, it does provide the ability to fine tune based on your specific hardware/dc voltages. Not sure of all the possibilities but might be worth investigating.
    You might find this thread interesting... https://en.industryarena.com/forum/s...l--211454.html

Similar Threads

  1. Hitachi X200 to G540 - PWM speed control and run
    By BloomingtonMike in forum Phase Converters
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-13-2018, 07:03 PM
  2. G540 > 0-10v > VFD > Spindle Speed Wobbles
    By PEU in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-23-2012, 02:09 AM
  3. Spindle Control Through G540
    By john1285 in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-30-2009, 04:26 PM
  4. G540 Spindle speed output voltage problem
    By georgef8 in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 04:18 PM
  5. BPSeriesI / Centroid control- Spindle speed all out of whack with speed dial?
    By peter.blais in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-08-2006, 09:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •