585,927 active members*
4,000 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Where to start? on X3 to CNC conversion?

Where to start? on X3 to CNC conversion?

I am a newbie, in fact so new, that I have ordered but haven't received my Grizzly g0463 version of the Sieg X3 yet.

Where do I start.

I am reading the board, but still trying to wrap my head around BOB's and controllers.

Is there someplace that breaks it down for a newbie like myself, and spells out what I would need from start to finish to convert to CNC?

Probably going to mainly do some small parts in aluminum or plastic with this mill, but really am almost more interested in the process of conversion to CNC than the end product.

Thanks
    Duke

Duke,

See the attached link below for a complete X3 conversion.

EMC2 is used as the machine control software however Mach3 would be easy to implement as well.

http://www.distinctperspectives.com/...ls.php?album=1

Welcome to the Zone,

Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

Bob Warfield's CNC cookbook is a good read and reference as well.

http://www.cnccookbook.com/CCBreakoutBoards.htm

http://www.cnccookbook.com/MTCNCDictionary.htm

Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

am I on the right track

I am looking at the CNC Fusion kits that are designed for the X3, and it looks to me like If I get kit #4 for $569

Then 3 stepper or servo motors,
    a Break out board to take it from an old PC that I have already.

and some software to run on the PC that will control it.

Is the CNC Fusion kit a reasonable way to go for somebody that doesn't have as much time in the shop to tinker with making fittings for attaching motors and such and wants to get up and running?

Thanks
    Duke