585,665 active members*
3,208 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 5 123

Buying a Shopmaster Patriot

Hi, I'm new to machining, I've been reading a lot (all) of these posts, thanks. I purchased a Patriot machine in Febuary 09 because it looked like the best bang for the buck, good use of space, and I'm not looking to make super tight tolerance parts. I ordered the DRO and self installed CNC options. The DRO looks cool, but the CNC seemed underpowered, so I returned it. Now it's been like 6 weeks and still no refund check, also still no Patriot, but I think those are in JT's shop, and I should get one soon! Has anyone had business problems with shopmaster? I hope I'm just being a worry wort. I really want to get started setting up the replacement CNC system I bought, and start chipping away. Is it normal to pay for the machine upfront and take delivery whenever?
    Enjoy life, its your present.

If you don't have the machine yet, how did you find the CNC underpowered? As far as delays go, its pretty much normal for any Chinese product, and seems to be more so in this economic climate. When I ordered my Patriot I was told 6 weeks for delivery, but it took 10.

About the CNC, I was expecting 640oz/in motors, but ended up getting a 400oz/in system, that's why I returned it. When I ordered the system there were only documented specs for a 640oz/in stepper system, so I assumed that's what I was buying. The 400in/oz system may have been adequate, but it was a low current system, and I wanted a little more headroom incase I needed faster federates or had problems with step skipping. I think coupled with the ball screw option, the 400in/oz system should be pretty slick, but I already have it in my head to use lead screws and tryout some custom lead nut designs, also I didn't want to spend an extra $800. (I'll probably switch to ball screws at some point, but I want to get a feel for things first.)