584,842 active members*
4,683 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Question CNC driven plastic injection machine

I have been toying with the idea to make a cnc machine that will inject or pour melted plastic into molds (small molds, cavities less than 1" wide by 10" long by 1" deep). I have several rough plans on the cnc machine, and really like the one posted on this site, however I do not know how the injection piece will work into the system.

I will typically be pouring 3 colors in each cavity in 3 passes (in controlled amounts along the path). I have looked at several stepper driven metering pumps that look as if they'll do the job but I am not sure how this will work as most controller boards seem to take up to 4 axis drivers. In this scenario the x and y axis will be guiding the pour nozzles, while I need 3 more controllable motors turning 3 seperate pumps.

I am fairly new to robotic automation, and am doing this as a hobby/learning project. Please advise as to any solutions you may have or guidance you may give. Is there a way to control 5-6 axis without spending 40k? or 1k for that matter! Also, if someone has done something similar I would love to hear about it.

Thanks,
    -Abram

Add a second parallel port?

You could add a second parallel port to your computer and hookup another controller for the additional motors. Most software will let you choose which parallel port each axis is connected to.
    Darren
    http://www.darrensshop.com

Thanks! Now on the subject of controllers, motors and drivers, what brand/model would you suggest for this application? The machine will be approx 2'x3' Gantry style (would like to if possible be able to convert to a mill to mill aluminum molds, but that isn't top priority). I am planing on using stepper motors for the pumps and probably for the xy as well. My goal is to spend as little as possible without sacrificing too much quality...I guess that is everyones goal...