585,764 active members*
4,440 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Looking for some help...first time purchase.

Looking for some help...first time purchase.

Not sure if this is where this goes....mods feel free to move if needed.

So I have been a model builder for several years now. I really enjoying casting and making my own parts, and I have a pretty fun set-up for doing this. What I have never had is a mill or lathe. there have been many time that I could have used one or both in the past.

I am seriously looking at getting one right now, and I am in need of a little direction/advice.

I know, or rather from what I have been told, lathes can't fully funtion like a mill can, and a mill cant fully function like a lathe....and my budget only has room for one right now.

I have looked at many of the tools offered by Harbor Freight and Grizzly, and the mixed reviews that I have read doesn't leave me w/ a lot of confidence.

The sherline products seem pretty realible and I have read many great reviews on them as well, but at that price, two would not be posible.

So the real question is versitility and upgradablity(aka cnc, which I would like to do one day.) I am also intrested in a dro feature as well.

So what is a more versitle machine, a lathe or a mill? W/ the addition of a rotary table and a right angle post how much "turning" can you do on a mill?

With the correct attatchments, on the sherline lathe, how functional is the milling aspect?

Any help or advice would be great guys!!

BTW first post, after lots of searching and lurking, I decided to finally post a response.

Ashton

Welcome to the forum Ashton,

The late responses are, I am sure, the difficulty in answering your questions.

For me, If I could only afford one or only had room for one it would be a mill.