585,758 active members*
4,218 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

IGF M08 placement

I've been working with Okuma lathes for a few years in two different shops, and nobody I've worked with has come up with a better way of fixing the M08 placement than hand editing. Currently I'm working with a Crown 1420L w/ the OSP-U100L control, and programming it with IGF right on the control. Is there anyway to get IGF to spit out my M08's after the approach move instead of at the tool indexing location?

I do mostly one-off and short run (5-10 pcs.) work, and I'm tired of editing every program by hand.

This will only be possible if you have ADMAC parts to edit your IGF post

there is parameter on IGF, You can set it to have M08 code inserted.
    there is possibility to save "block" of IGF program and to use this block wherever You need in IGF part program. This is a bit less buttons than to go "isert NC text".

Thanks for the responses. I can't seem to find any options in the parameters tab of the IGF screen that have anything to do with coolant (except for the bar puller option) and I don't have access to ADMAC, so I guess I'm stuck. I've grown to like IGF, but we've got MasterCAM lathe here at the shop so I might have to go that way for a solution.

Sure, there is such a parameter. Ask Your local representative for assistance. You need to indicate version of Your IGF exactly, because these are not equal.
    Suppose, you can check coolant on on every process edit dialog also. Somewhere next to rotation direction and chip thickness

Your IGF file does not dictate where the actual placement of the coolant command, it is only a switch ( turn ON, turn OFF )

( a long time ago )