585,877 active members*
3,369 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

CNC with touch cut plasma system

Hi all,

I am quite new in the CNC world and even newer in the plasma cutter community.

Rather than a long introduction please visit my web page devoted to my hobbies : http://freedom2000.free.fr/index.html

I would like to buy a small chineese plasma cutter 50A. It is a "touch to cut" system. Do you think that such a system is convenient for a cnc;
    could I use it in the following manner ?

- z axis down to touch
    - arc ignition
    - z axis up
    - cnc cutting
    - arc off

is there a risk to burn the torch if starting the arc in plain material ?

another question : what do you think about this cheap unit :
    http://www.pellet-mill.de/shop/article_CUT-50A/INVERTER-CUT-50.html?sessid=HTSKjXzd2q4MlVABgRDjPHrs0lhNDaAOYA1 MwYlOsCIcrfSlc9gmPgbKPAlks3xR&shop_param=cid%3D16%26aid%3DCUT-50A%26

or the same in english http://www.rsweld.com/Air-Plasma-Cut...t40-Cut50-376/

thanks in advance

JP

from my experience and i suggest ya get a good quality brand name plasma cutter to reduce headache and problems

such as hypertherm (i suggest ya get hypertherm machine)

Quote Originally Posted by DanOSB View Post
    from my experience and i suggest ya get a good quality brand name plasma cutter to reduce headache and problems

such as hypertherm (i suggest ya get hypertherm machine)
    Yes thanks for the advice --> I will probably choose a better brand

However, this answers only partially to my questions...

The most important for me is to know if it is possible or not to use a simple plasma cutter "touch to start cutting" with a CNC or if it is mandatory to use an "auto start device" (that is the torch doesn't need to touch the metal to start cutting --> see this nice smiley !!! (flame2)).

JP

for my cnc using hypertherm i have a microswitch so before i start peircing the part it touch the metal and then go back up to .125" then cut the material