585,962 active members*
3,885 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Trying to program a SPI 2011 frame

Trying to program a SPI 2011 frame

I downloaded the file from cncguns and I dont know alot about mastercam as im still learning and I cant seam to do anything but just look at it. Cant place zero it just sticks it out in space. What am I doing wrong?

Anyone?

What version Mcam do you have ?
    ( let's us know where to point you )

At what experience level are you at ?
    Do you know your way around Mcam, areas, dialog screens, terms that are used in Mcam, mouse use, short-cut keys(Alt-F1, Alt-S etc), etc ?
    ( this is a good place to start - try to learm the system )
    ( look up the help files, especially "getting started" )
    ( sample files should have been installed, if not, they are on the disk. These are used in conjunction with teaching exercises, they are also a good reference to creating toolpaths)

computer literate y/n ?
    ( How basic our explainations have to be to guide you )

This file you downloaded, does it have toopaths with it ?

Just remember--you have to walk before you can fly, so don't expect big things to happen in the eary stages. Certain items may be a little hard to grasp and may need special attention ie the WCS and plane views, multiple set-ups, origin shifts are stumbling blocks for many

Version 9 is what im using and I guess im at a basic level. I mean Ive programed parts at work for the mill I run but nothing really complicated like 3d conturing. I know my way around the dialog screen and can draw and program a part from scratch but this file I cant do anything with. To give an Idea the ar15 receiver in my avatar is 10 separate pieces that programed but its been about four months since I last programmed anything (Laid off) so I think I have forgot a lot. The file doesn't have tool paths, its just a wire frame drawing.