585,748 active members*
3,520 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Moving table fixed gantry build

I have been working on a router for some time now. The machine will be all steel, aluminum, and Iron. Most of the parts for the machine I already have. I will be purchasing a screw drive system and several electronic items to finish the build. The machine is to have a 52in X travel, 32+inch Y travel and 12+inch Z travel. The pics I am posting today only reflect the start of my build and I have accomplished alot more then what is pictured. I will be giving a good inventory of parts both purchased and machined in the next few days. I will need alot of electronics help in the coming days as its a weak point for me. As a little background I have been programming and running cnc machines for going on 11 years. Much more to come soon I promise.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails machine pic 1.jpg   machine pic 2.jpg   machine pic 3.jpg   machine pic 4.jpg  

machine pic 5.jpg  

Wow, that thing looks solid. Be interested in see what parts you get for it and what the overall design looks like. Don't know how far along you are with the design, but I'm really glad I designed mine on my CAD program 1st. I probbaly redid 5 or 6 times in the CAD program before I was happy with it, that saved alot of time working with the real parts. I didn't go into the detail of drawing the bolt heads, etc, but probably should have cause I had some clearance problems to work out when building it.