548,321 active members*
1,842 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Touch Probe

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    78

    Touch Probe

    I've just taken delivery of a touch probe from this chap :-

    http://www.machsupport.com/forum/ind...ic,5004.0.html

    My knowledge of lektronix extends to red cable is + (usually) !

    Can anyone who's fitted one or similar give an indepth method of connecting it before I let the smoke out???

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23797
    What about the PDF installation instructions he mentions?
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4554

    Post

    The white wire is common, the red connects to your probe input pin.
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    What about the PDF installation instructions he mentions?
    Al.
    You mean this . . .
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4554

    Post

    3.5mm wiring.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 3.5mm.jpg  
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  6. #6
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23797
    I guess it comes with the miniature phono jack?
    The circuit just shows a string of N.C. contacts so the correct polarity is only required for the LED to operate when the probe has touched off, you can't really screw anything up as if you had the wire pair crossed it would just mean the LED would not light.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    734
    Oooh!

    Gotta get me one of those

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    78
    Ok, now I know what the wires are . . . where do I put them???

    This is the bit where the smoke comes out !

    I've read that they need to connect to pin 11 of the parrallel port ?

    How, What, Why, When, Where ?

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    327
    This thread should help. Have a read and post back if still unsure

    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=84671

    /M

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    78
    I really am a numpty when it comes to lektronix

    Is Board 1.jpg what I'm plugging into?

    If so, then I've modified a connector to fit Plug 2.jpg

    Now the hard bit, I have 3 wires from the probe, Red, White & a naked shield Cable 1.jpg, will all 3 be used? What do I need to connect to the plug - Plug 1.jpg?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Board 1.jpg   Plug 1.jpg   Plug 2.jpg   Cable 1.jpg  


  11. #11
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23797
    Pin 2-red & 3-white.
    Take the shield to ground.
    Your plug has only two active pins so if you have to find a ground for the shield.
    As long as the socket you show has the same pin out as the second JPG.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    78
    I thank you all, I really am a complete numpty when it comes to lektronics.

    Having read through the posts I salvaged a suitable connector from an old PC fan & sanded it down to fit, the problem of how to connect such tiny & intricate wires was solved by junking the supplied female jack connector & purchasing a replacement from Maplins where the wires could be soldered directly to the jack.

    Plugged it in & fired her up, touching the probe illuminates the probes LED & the 'digitise' LED lights in Mach3's diag window. And no smoke !

    Eureka, after a bit of experimentation with the Mach3 digitise wizard I've set it off on probing a complex part I've been wanting to copy for ages.

    Although this probe is going to save me lots of money it's also going to cost me a lot too, it's going to take about 3 days to create a point cloud on this part so I'm looking to buy/build a simple 3 axis machine pureley for probing.

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    14

    Re: Touch Probe

    Hi All
    Does anyone know the "Magic Sauce" that Cliff uses in his ITTP probe.
    It's the contact preservative on the contacts.
    I want to try it on my Centroid probe to help keep the contacts
    in shape. Now I clean them with Acetone and then apply
    CRAMOLIN. Any ideas appreciated.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Posts
    23

    Re: Touch Probe

    He mentioned - do not remember the source (video, blog, online manual,...?) - that it is a proprietary formula he developed and does not plan to share, at least at this time.

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    14

    Re: Touch Probe

    I have a friend at NASA. I'll find something.

Similar Threads

  1. 3D touch probe
    By bschwand in forum General MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-26-2013, 10:06 PM
  2. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-05-2013, 06:05 PM
  3. Touch probe
    By kolias in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2012, 11:16 PM
  4. touch probe
    By mick.w in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 06:45 PM
  5. How to add Touch Probe
    By Wingnuts in forum Taig Mills / Lathes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 05:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •