585,722 active members*
4,184 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > WoodWorking Topics > New Project - building a drum sander
Page 1 of 3 123

New Project - building a drum sander

Well, being an avid woodworker, I have a pretty nice setup out in the shop. Built some nice stuff over the last decade if I do say so myself. One thing that has always bugeed me was the lack of a way to sand wide panels. I only have a 12" planer and anything over that I have to go to a local shop and have it done. No big deal, but they are getting expensive and rude and don't like the little guy anymore so....lets build a sander.

Nothing real fancy. About 25" width. with power feed and up to about 5" thickness capacity.

Gonna build it out of aluminum extrusions and mdg for the most part. Why?

Well I have some extrusion laying around, and I have some mdf laying around, and I have a motor laying around, and I have some pillow blocks laying around and I have some ......well you get the point.

Below is a quick rendering of what it might look like.

Dan
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sander.jpg  
    Check out what I am working on at www.routerbitz.com!

The hardest part of this project is building/finding drums which are accurate and balanced.

In the past I've seen where drums were built from MDF, which I believe is not the right solution.

It would be great to find a source of 6 inch diameter tube with the ends sealed, I'm there are some type of wringers (such as the old fashioned washing machine type) that are used commercially. Maybe there are some photocopier drums or print press drums/rollers available.

Paul