585,908 active members*
3,891 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Tools / Tooling Technology > CNC Tooling > What type of tool holder is this???

What type of tool holder is this???

Hi all I am new to the CNC mill stuff, I just acquired a SuperMax YCM-40 CNC Mill. I am trying to identify what type of tool holder this machine is using so I can get more. I have googled it but all I get is ran around in circles and no answers. I been to a few shops in the area and they have no idea but think it is a 40 taper. I have only used R8 type holders in the past.

This has the numbers 40 EM 0.375 E it appears to have a 1/2" thread, Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

Looks like an Erickson Quick Change or NMTB #40 taper, can be used with a draw bar
    or locking nut at nose of spindle.. That would be my guess at least.

It is a 40 Taper holder, for a manual milling machine and uses a drawbar placed thru the spindle, with 1/2" BSW os UNC thread into the rear of the holder, to secure it in the machine

The pull-stud is replaced with the extra bit on the back of the taper making it useless for a CNC machine

Hi Clancy64 thanks for the reply, can you tell me what is the difference in NMTB #40 taper, Cat-40 and BT-40?

Hi Superman thanks for the reply. This is a CNC machine, it had a tool changer on it but was removed by a previous owner. This is the toolholder that was in the machine. I am trying to find out what I need to buy so I can get busy using this machine.

This is a link to Iscar Toolholhers to look at, this is for reference only, you will be able to buy cheaper ( sorry, it is a metric e-catalogue )( you may find inperial with a "kennametal tool holder" search )

First, compare your tooling to this link, it has drawings of different tapers etc so that you know what to buy

You may have a #30 taper, but it is marked as a "40" endmill side lock for a 3/8" shank tool

Steve