508,548 active members
3,504 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > fitting a 110v or 220v single phase spindle motor on a 3 phase machine
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 12 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    614

    fitting a 110v or 220v single phase spindle motor on a 3 phase machine

    I know this is out of the range of topics usually covered in the benchtop forum but...

    I have been looking at getting an X2 for a while now...I was talking to a friend of mine that works at MSC about thier benchtop units. He offered me a deal I dont think I can pass up. Its an older Cincinnati Mill with a vertical and horizontal spindle... Im not sure of the exact model but I know the Horizontal spindle is fixed in position.

    Now to my question how practical would it be to change the non working 220v 3 phase spindle motor over to a 220v single phase or 110v spindle motor? I think I would still be way better off than with an X2 even if I couldnt use the machine to its full potential.

    Comments, advice, critisism appreciate^^

    Thanks

    Matt
    http://www.g0704.blogspot.com/

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1732
    I would agree with you on this. You can also work on the mill to fix it up and what not. But if you can get the HP on single phase than why not?... At least for the time being.


    -Jason

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7087
    Why not replace it with another 3-phase motor, and buy a VFD, then you can run if off a single-phase line, and you'll have variable speed as well?

    Regards,
    Ray L.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    614
    Why not replace it with another 3-phase motor, and buy a VFD, then you can run if off a single-phase line, and you'll have variable speed as well?
    Ray, care to elaborate? tell me more about how this would be done? The 3-phase motor in it may work as my friend told me, he saw it work once but then when he hooked it up to his phase converter he couldnt get it to work so he went and bought a new machine...the old one has been sitting a while...he does oil the ways and move em around a bit...

    If you have a better option with a 3 phase motor that could run off single phase i may be in business!
    http://www.g0704.blogspot.com/

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4556

    Post

    Mwood3,

    You would be 1000% better off if you kept the three phase motor and purchase a VFD.

    http://tinyurl.com/ygxyaa2

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4556
    The first link I attached was not correct, please review the new link.

    http://tinyurl.com/ygxyaa2

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    614
    Looks nice, I assume i need to match the input need for my motor to the output of one of those drives?
    http://www.g0704.blogspot.com/

  8. #8
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4556

    mwood3,

    In a nutshell the answer to your question is yes.

    The VFD vendor should provide you with pre and post sale tech support, making the upgrade relatively simple.

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    614
    Not to sound too cheap...well, cheap is the name of the game, lol. anyways is ebay a good source for VFD's?
    http://www.g0704.blogspot.com/

  10. #10
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7087
    Quote Originally Posted by mwood3 View Post
    Not to sound too cheap...well, cheap is the name of the game, lol. anyways is ebay a good source for VFD's?
    A brand new VFD for up to a 3HP motor will cost you no more than $200. Getting one off E-Bay, you may get one that doesn't work, or is an old model, which may not work as well as current ones. Seems a false economy to me, for such a small amount of money.

    Regards,
    Ray L.

  11. #11
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3010
    What size motor (voltage and horsepower) do you need to power?

    Cincinnati mills can take some pretty powerful motors...

    Mike

  12. #12
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23190
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelHenry View Post
    What size motor (voltage and horsepower) do you need to power?

    Cincinnati mills can take some pretty powerful motors...

    Mike
    I agree, I don't think I have ever seen a light Cincinnati!
    The other thing to watch for, there were quite a few early Cinci horiz mills that were programmable point-to-point control via hydraulic motor and encoder, they were not easilly converted to true interpolated CNC.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. 110v single phase bridgeport motor swap
    By stanglou in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 10-14-2011, 12:41 AM
  2. Can I convert single phase motor to three phase?
    By Jim Estes in forum Phase Converters
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 01-24-2009, 09:41 AM
  3. 30 hp spindle motor on 240 single phase?
    By panaceabea in forum Phase Converters
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 11:29 PM
  4. single phase spindle motor
    By Don Lester in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 03:37 AM
  5. Single phase IR motor with a VFD?
    By in2steam in forum Phase Converters
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-10-2007, 05:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •