585,894 active members*
5,022 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Syil Products > Tramming the head on a X4+

Tramming the head on a X4+

I was getting poor results while surfacing some stock cutting in along the Y axis, so I checked the alignment. The head is off side-to-side around .008" over a 9" distance, and that's after loosing the screws to try to rotated the head a bit. I'm fairly new to this, but that seems like a lot. The head looks to be pinned in place so it can't be rotated.

Has anyone come up with a way to adjust the head on the X4?

loosten all the screws, and insert a strip or two of shim material, like that of a POP-TART wrapper. It's about .0005" thick. Shim it until it's tramed perfect when all the screws are tight!

Widgit

widgitmaster,

Just want to make sure we're on the same page.... I loosened the screws holding the head to see if there was any play to rotate/adjust the head. You're saying to loosen the bolts on the column and shim the SIDE of the column?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails columnbolts.jpg   headscrews2.jpg  

Red face

Hey Is the head out in the"X Axis Plane" or "Y Axis Plane"?
    If its "Xaxis plane"...you can loosen the bolts and not have to "pulltheplug" and Tram it in Perfect.
    after you loosen the bolts,snug them back abit..(make the one on the "0 ref.side" a little tighter it will keep you from overshooting)and swing the indicator to find the "high Side"...swing the indicator back 90 deg. and set your indicator to "0" swing back 90deg and bump the head to bring the needle say .004 if its .008 out...swing back 90deg..re set "0"...Swing back around 90deg and adjust accordingly...Always go back to the side you established "0" and use it as your ref.(resetting "0") tighten the bolts and re-check things...If you have to adjust the "Y axis", you will have to determin how much it is out and loosen the Column Bolts and Shim it.....