585,753 active members*
4,698 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > IT software programmer to CNC programmer: Suggestions/views please
Page 1 of 2 12

IT software programmer to CNC programmer: Suggestions/views please

Hi friends

I need your advice. I am an electronics engg graduate. My dad is one of the partners of a growing tyre mould factory in Bangalore, India. I am a software engg by profession and have hardly entered the factory.

1. Can a software programmer like me(c++, flex, java with extensive 3d graphics experience in Maya, Max, melscript and maxscript) get to terms with CNC programming quickly in just 1 week hands on?

2. The programming work at the factory is predominantly with powermill and mastercam. Used to generate tool paths, engravings etc. Will it be easy for a programmer from another domain like me to get to terms.
    Please note I dont know how lathes and other machines work. I only did a bit of engg drawing in my first year(I am an electronics engg. Can design and code in the Maya/Max 3d graphics environment).

My noobness shows in the questions perhaps, but thats exactly what I am

Please let me know what you guys think.

yes it will be easy. and it's not engg, it's eng

Wink

I think the problem is not to learn how programming, because the structures and logics are quiet similar, but to get acknowledgement of the working processes.
    I mean spindle speeds, Feed rates, tools technology, working CW or CCW around a piece, for example. These are the most important arguments to be a smart CNC programmer.

" The problem is not the language, but yours speech !"
    CAD-CAM Manager

hell no,you just wont be able to just 'jump' into cnc programming without any knowledge of engineering,machines,cutters,toolpaths etc

Quote Originally Posted by bolton78 View Post