585,970 active members*
4,153 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: begginer

begginer

i am new to this fourm currently learning pro-e man. dont know where to start

Get on Amazon, buy some books.

First, why did you choose Pro E? I am assuming you are new to CAD software? Each CAD software package is like speaking a different language. It is not overly helpful to learn a new language by reading a book about it. Using tutorials is the very best way to get familiar with CAD software, as it takes you step by step through the making of parts, assemblies and drawings.

I ask why you chose Pro E, simply because there are several high end software packages out there, such as AutoCAD and SolidWorks, to name a couple. Choosing one over the other, is like trying to find the perfect wife (or husband for the ladies). One will feel more 'right' for you, while others will not. They all do basically the same thing, but in different ways. I have AutoCAD 2008, Pro Engineer Wildfire 4.0 and SolidWorks 2009. Honestly, I still don't know which one I favor more. Although, I do tend to lean more towards Pro E and SolidWorks. Each person's mind thinks best in different environments. Each CAD program will offer you a different environment. Use the included tutorials that come with CAD programs, to get the feel for its environment and processes. Only then, will you get how it all works and start putting things together in your mind.

In my version of Pro E, Wildfire 4.0, the window starts out as a browser window. In the upper left, there is a box called 'resource center'. Click on 'intoduction tutorial'. This will open a page with several tutorials to help you get the feel of how things work in Pro E. A hands on approach will help you more than a book will in the beginning stages. After you get a feel for it, 'then' you should invest in a good book to have as a reference and for more in-depth exploration of the software.