585,933 active members*
3,818 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Laser tube care and maintenance - newbie question

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to the forum and to glass laser tubes, but not to CNC machines.

I have had a long read of many threads but have not found definitive answers.

I have just purchased, and am eagerly awaiting the arrival of a rather generic 40w Chinese laser engraver/cutter.

I'm firmly reassured by the ebay seller that it will cut vector mode, but this was only after I had to explain what vector mode was, so I expect to have to change a control board and do some mods.

This aside, as I have had no experience with glass laser tubes, I had considered the use of automotive radiator coolant (propylene glycol - suitable for aluminium radiators) as a replacement for demineralised (distilled) water. I currently and unaware of the exact configuration of the tube, other than the fact that it is water cooled.

I have read that these tubes typically have some kind of aluminium heat exchanged buried deep within the elegant coils of glass capillary tube, but know little more than my research tells me.

I have also read some indications that the beam (this is a CO@2 tube) will pass through the coolant at some point.

I'm interested to know if anyone can assist with some information about what is good and/or bad for a glass laser tube of this type. As it is my first, I would like to enjoy it's function for as long as possible before replacing the tube.

I am somewhat of an innovator and experimenter, and I am inclined to experiment, but I much prefer to do my research first, as letting the magic smoke out is not really an option right now.

In summary:

Is glycol based engine coolant good or bad?

Should I just stick with distilled water?

Are there any basics that one should know to obtain the best life out of a laser tube?