585,888 active members*
4,951 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Bob Cad Post Processors and Machine Centers

Bob Cad Post Processors and Machine Centers

Hi Guys,
    I have a used copy of Mastercam wouldn't you know Mastercam will not support their products bought used unless one pays past maintenance fees and to upgrade to latest version. So I decided to purchase the Bobcad V23 with all the options. I have a Kitumra Mycenter with full fourth and 5th indexing. The question is how is Bobcam with post processors and full out machining centers? I'm not a post wizard that's why I’m asking here. I would like to use the Mastercam X2 but don't have the budget of 10k or so.

Hi Eric,
    I'll be the first. Though i dont have a "full Machine center". The post processor is a simple text file. They are pretty much customizable. They just released their new scripting engine so if the base engine doesnt produce something you need, you can script it.

The package doesnt do "full 4th-5th" work (YET....it's comming) But does 4th indexing and wrapping.

You can probably find a thread here that has someones post in it. You can download that and look in it with notepad to see what it looks like. If you cant make heads or tails of it at all, the package will include a simple post editor that formats the post into a Graphical User Interface that allows you to see the layout of the land. You can also just turn on debug statements and the output code will include a line that points to the command in the post that created it. Should be pretty simple for a guy that can run a machine center.

Anyway, good luck with your parusing.

Hi Burrman,
    Thanks for the reply.