585,982 active members*
4,669 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: EZ Vision

EZ Vision

SO long story short....hardinge doesn't want to warranty the CF (Compact Flash) module that their system for the EZ Vision off. Well, they don't want to extend the 6 months warranty. It has Windows XP embedded so making a copy is damn near impossible.

So my question to you guys is this. Are any of you having to replace these cards? If so how often? Do you know of anyone that has had to replace these cards? The service dept at hardinge says this isn't a common problem but they have sold 4 cards this year and this will be the third one in mine since it was new 2 years ago. IMO there is a problem but I have no one to use as an example besides myself.

If anyone has had any problems or expereinces with this please let me know....maybe together we can get Hardinge to do something about this.

Thanks
    Travis

EZ Vision

Hello i've worked on many EZ Visions in the past. Im a service tech for a Hardinge distributor. I only had to really replace that card once on a machine due to a very bad virius getting into the system. I admit that these machines have there fair share of "funky" problems but I havent seen much of what your talking about. The cooling of that boards inside the operator pendent is very important. Majority of machine shops have a dirty enviroment around them and dust begins to built in the cover that is hiding that card. So make sure that both the fan on the board and the fan mounted on the back wall are working. Also make sure that the remote card holder's area is staying clean. This system uses fiber optics to communicate the drives to the controller. There is where I run into most of the problems. What is the problem your experiancing? The control doesnt boot up or just the ez vision program. Just to let you know as well, (you probably know this already), but there are only 2 files on the system that is specific to the machine its on. The "stored pitch