585,888 active members*
4,083 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Buying first Mill thoughts, Need feedback

Buying first Mill thoughts, Need feedback

Hi guys, first post. Let me just start by saying WOW. The amount of information on this site is astounding. Ok from the begining. I'm 19 and I'm attending my Junior college for precision macheing. This is my first year running the mills and I've always wanted to do machining as soon as I saw wat can be created. I've done foam CNC mill work in high school useing masterCAM and from what I remember I liked the software. I then got into AutoCAD is HS and have 101 under my belt at school now. Now when it comes to machines I'm still pritty clueless on what I'd need and most importanly what it all does to the fine detail or atleast in a simple sence. I am more mechanicly inclined than I am electricly so things like servos and electronic gizmoes esental for CNCs are just names to me. I have no problem learning all of this I just need to figure out what my esentals should be and how they opperate for simply maintence and operation. I am signed up for a NC class for the spring semestar to refamilarise with CNC, G/m codes, and to hopfuly ask lots of questions. I do not know what software they are useing but I can probly find out sooner or later. Now in the sence I'm takeing all these classes to hopfuly gain my assoicates in manufacturing. Now here comes the buying the mill part. Where I curently live, we are expected to grow emencily in the upcomeing years. My idea for all this(and hopefuly we all dont die in 2012 making this useless) is to start a buisness involveing CNC machines. Now right now as for ideas for projects I dont have to many ideas for brand new products. I do have ideas on modifying old things, makeing them lighter, useing thhe part as a base and redesigning "unsightly" designs haha. But typicly parts would be smaller based