585,908 active members*
3,711 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > Two stepper motors on one output-port

Two stepper motors on one output-port

On my homemade cnc-machine I have connected two stepper motors on the x-axis. Both steppers are controlled from one output one the controller pcb. Seems to have worked rather well for a long time.

What suprised me was that I one day rotated one stepper by my hand,
    and the other one was following, without any power being connected.

Since I work in the electrical-business I know about motors and generators and stuff, but steppers are unfamiliar.

Even when moving rather slowly and only a few degrees, the other one followed.

So my question is: Is it not a good idea hooking two steppers in parallel?
    Or can I connect some diodes "somewhere" to prevent the motors running each other?
    I don't know if this is a "problem" when they are running by the pc.

I have had incidents where it seems like they don't cooperate. But I have thought it was more like mechanical related problems, but maybe this is a part of the problem..

you need two driver, for two stepper motor, can't conect paraller

Fast reply
    Btw. Here is a picture of my machine:
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=93676

My drivercard has 4-axes.
    So it is a better choice to use the 4th axis to control the second stepper for my x-axis by mapping the x-axis to both x-axis and a-axis then. (X,Y,Z,A-axis.)
    It is really important that the two steppers move simultaneously, or the milling will fail, and in worst case the whole moving assembly will be jammed...

just conect paraller C axis and X asix input ( step and dir)

if it worng direction, you need swap 2 wire of motor ( A+ and A- )

b.r