585,573 active members*
3,498 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Spindle Drive Fault

G&L Mill with Acramatic 2100 controller

been getting intermittent Spindle Drive Fault error for 12 to 18 months.
    Started when W dirve motor got coolant in it. Motor has been replaced but
    no change in errors.

Anyone have ideas about what could be causing error?

Thanks,

Mike

What kind of spindle controller is fitted? Some machines were fitted with a VFD so there should be a error code on the spindle unit.
    Al
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

more on Spindle Drive Fault

Thanks for the reply, Al!

I don't know what kind of spindle controller is fitted. I am new to CNC maintenance but will try to find out Monday.

More information:

The fault happens when the mill is in transition between steps, such as pulling back from the work for a tool change, etc., not while actually milling (cutting on the part).

The W axis motor moves the table toward or away from the head. After more thought, I expect the problems with the W axis motor don't have anything to do with the Spindle Drive Fault - just happened to start at the same time.

I did more research after posting my first message here. The expanded Spindle Drive Fault message says, in part:
    PLC input 100.00/18
    Elec. Schem Line 4104

On digging into the manuals, on Sheet 41 (probably no significance that it was on sheet 41), between 4104 and 4106 in the left margin, I found:

S-DRV/TB1 LINE 1312<------ 18 18->>-->>-18 100:00/18 DI_SDRV_NF

I substituted a few characters and made a few other compressions in the above to try to make it fit this format.
    The "---" is actually straight lines in the manual.

There is "1018" just above the line going from "1312" to thie first "18", which appears to mean that line is "1018".