502,539 active members
5,516 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 6 123
Results 1 to 12 of 70
  1. #1
    007 Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    18

    Question NC Transfer Program

    I would like to find a simple program to transfer programs from my computer to my Mill.
    The software package I use can transfer the data, however I would like a stand alone program so that I can upload the data from another Editor.
    The simpler the better, I really don't need any fancy features, just some program that I can pass a file to and have it uploaded.

    Hopefully someone can suggest some software to accomplish this.
    Thanks
    -JamesBond
    Experience is the name every one gives to their mistakes.

  2. #2
    Community Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    6855

  3. #3
    007 Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    18
    That looks like it might work, however a bit too fancy and expensive for what I need.
    Ideally I would like to pass the program a file name and have it transfer the program with out pressing a send button. That way I could easily transfer the file from within my editor.
    Thanks
    -JamesBond
    Experience is the name every one gives to their mistakes.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    I made a small program that does just that... nothing more. (Meaning it doesn't receive... yet. Some day I'll finish that part if I get time )

    Let me know if interested. I've been thinking about releasing this as freeware.

    'Rekd teh nothing witty to say here..
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails scomm.jpg  
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    Originally posted by JamesBond
    That looks like it might work, however a bit too fancy and expensive for what I need.
    Ideally I would like to pass the program a file name and have it transfer the program with out pressing a send button. That way I could easily transfer the file from within my editor.
    Thanks
    -JamesBond
    This will work nicely... it accepts command line parameters for file names, then automatically sends it. You have the option of hiding it during send, and also exiting afterwards.

    'Rekd teh w00t! 69 posts!!
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  6. #6
    007 Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    18

    Perfect!

    Thats exactly what I'm looking for.
    -JamesBond
    Experience is the name every one gives to their mistakes.

  7. #7
    Community Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    6855
    See dreams do come true. :wee: Now does rekd know PHP, that's the question I have?:chinese:

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    James, we fix you. No problem.

    Paul, I'm not a wizzard with php, but lemme know what you need I'll see if I can help.

    :cheers:

    'Rekd
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    James, I added the 115.2k baud. I will have to wait 'til I get home before I can upload it to my web site. (damn firewalls)

    I'll let you know here when it's ready.

    'Rekd
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    Scott,

    I haven't had a chance to test the install program. Some of the files may be out of date on newer systems. The file transfer app works great on 98, ME, XP and NT. (I've tested it on these systems)

    If you have a problem with the install there is a simple work around; there is a .cab file inside the .zip file that you can open with WinZip. Extract all the files to the folder of your choice and run SComm.exe. It will read everything it needs from the local folder instead of the system. (Not to worry about conflicts due to running these files locally; these controls will not interfere with anything else that may be running, except if you try to send data thru the same comm port from 2 different sources at the same time, i.e. SComm and Cimco or something.)

    If you have ?'s or !'s let me know.

    'Rekd teh If VB wasn't so damn easy, I'd have tossed it out long ago..
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  11. #11
    007 Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    18

    Talking

    I do have a question...
    Who is Scott?

    I guess that is your super secret code name for JamesBond,
    I installed it and tried to run it, however it does not transfer the file. It seems like it is trying to transfer the data ssssllllllooooowwwwllllyyy, as I see the byte count slowly increasing. I have tried other baud rates with the same result.
    I have a oscilloscope that I will probe the data and control lines in a little while to see if anything on the port wiggles.

    Another question I have..... is there an option to add a "%" at the beginning and end of the file?
    I'll guess these are the begin and end transmission characters, I could add them to each of my files.
    Thanks,
    -JamesBond
    Experience is the name every one gives to their mistakes.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    Isn't Scott spelled backwards James?

    You will need to set the correct comm port for the computer, and set the data and stop bits, error control and baud to match the controller. Make sure you have properly wired plugs, etc.

    Also, the file will need to be ready to send, as there is no editor associated with the transfer program. If you use an editer that allows you to run external programs, you can send the file name to scomm and it will send it to the controller.

    'Rekd
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Page 1 of 6 123

Similar Threads

  1. parametric programming
    By Karl_T in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 05-24-2005, 08:58 PM
  2. How to cut multiple parts (loop a program)
    By Bird_E in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-13-2005, 09:16 PM
  3. feeds and speeds program
    By Kees Soeters in forum General Metalwork Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-12-2005, 06:32 PM
  4. A few honest questions
    By HuFlungDung in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-16-2004, 12:24 AM
  5. G-Code Cutter Comp Program
    By jcc3inc in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-27-2004, 05:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •