585,727 active members*
4,148 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Fanuc 16i variable offset issue

    Hello I have a compicated issue, I use a Robodrill with a Fanuc 16i controller
    and I am attempting to create a variable offset on my X axis based on data collected using a Renishaw OMP40 touch probe. The real issue is my probe stores all of the data in decimal format I.E. 1" = 1.000" and fanucs offsets using the G10L50 function uses data in the 1" = 1000 format and trying to multiply the decimal place to the right does not work. I need to know how I can force my probe to store data in the format used by the G10L50 offset.

    This is how I currently load my offsets
    If I needed and offset of: 1" on X, 2" on Y, and 3" on Z
    and I want to add a second varable on X for the adjustment I need

    #101 = 1000
    #102 = 2000
    #103 = 3000

    G10L50
    N1221 P1 R[#101]
    N1221 P2 R[#102]
    N1221 P3 R[#103]
    G11
    G54

    Here is what I want to do add a variable on X for the adjustment I need
    based on info collected by my probe on actual part length vs model length, and this is not scaling just an offset.


    #101 = 1000
    #102 = 2000
    #103 = 3000

    G10L50
    N1221 P1 R[#101 + #572]
    N1221 P2 R[#102]
    N1221 P3 R[#103]
    G11
    G54

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1511
    It appears that you have the DPI bit set for conventional input instead of calculator input. My hunch would be that your probe is hitting and storing machine position values into your variables which will get entered as X.XXXX. However with your program input having to be 1000 to =1.000 you are contradicting.

    Long story short change parameter 3401.0 equal to 1. You will have to change your program to use the decimal.. Your #101=1000 will have to change to #101=1.000 or #101=1. Or #101=1

    These will all give the same result. Your other option is to write in the macro or a different program and covert your probe data by multiplying it by 1000

    I strongly suggest changing the bit to make sure noting is conflicting. It will make it much easier. You don’t want the chance for any error or miscalculation especially if you are using this data to adjust offsets with G10. Just imagine if a number adjusts by 1000.0” instead of 1.0”.

    Good luck,
    Stevo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    988
    Well hang on.... why store it in a parameter like that using L50? Why not use the system variables and set the values into the work offset page? (#5221, 5222, 5223)?... and even make adjustments you need?
    It's just a part..... cutter still goes round and round....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792
    Quote Originally Posted by psychomill View Post
    Well hang on.... why store it in a parameter like that using L50? Why not use the system variables and set the values into the work offset page? (#5221, 5222, 5223)?... and even make adjustments you need?
    I have heard that macro programming is an option. If so, he may not have this option enabled on his machine. Or, he may not be using macro programming. With macro programming, G10 is not needed for common programming applications.

    Incidently, irrespective of DPI setting, parameter 1221 stores values in least input increments. So, a multiplication factor has to be used.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-17-2009, 09:41 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-25-2009, 05:22 PM
  3. EMC2 variable pitch / variable diameter threading.
    By samco in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-09-2008, 07:40 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-21-2007, 08:45 PM
  5. System variable for spindle tool Fanuc 15m
    By pieface in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-01-2006, 12:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •