585,735 active members*
4,867 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Y axis cannot move up...

i'm a newbie... need help on my CO2 laser machine... my problem is i cannot move up the laser head to the y axis, but the x axis can move left and right just fine... whenever i move the laser head up no matter how far up, it automatically move down to the bottom of the y axis...

anybody please can help me? thank u very much.....

Does your machine have limit switches?

If so, perhaps the Y-axis upper limit is faulty.

It could also be caused by a driver problem, but if the machine initializes and moves to the home position it is most likely ok. Some machines have independent home and limit switches, so just because the home switch operates it doesn't mean the limit isn't stuck, and during initialization the limit may be ignored.

Zax.

Dear Zax,

My machine doesn't have limit switches... And the machine also work and start correctly even it always move down to the bottom of y axis... It just doesn't wanna move up, so I cannot move it to the designated area and start from there... I already checked and tested everything, the software did work a bit slow though, then I uninstall and reinstall the software, and nothing changed, still the same... I really meet dead end here..
    Other helps are greatly appreciated and mostly welcome... And thank u zax for the comment and suggestion...

Joe

Is the up switch bad on the laser? You didn't say what software your machine uses, but some software has up down left right controls on the computer screen also (LaserCut software does), have you tried the controls on the computer screen (if it has them) and those do not work either?

Just trying to eliminate possible problems.

Skip

So the machine moves + and - in Y axis when running, but you just can not 'jog' the machine manually?

That would sound like a switch problem as Skip suggested.

Is this a home made system?

Zax.