585,917 active members*
3,609 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

A Axis and Step and Direction Spindle Setup

I need help!

I run Mach2 on a DIY cnc machine that uses X, Y, Z movements like a milling machine, but is acutally a lathe for turning pool cue shafts.

My first dilemma is setting up an A axis. I have a stepper hooked up to the spindle of my lathe. I want to use it to index for inlay work. The problem is that I do not know how to command it. When I write G1 A90, the axis tries to move to a linear position of 90. I have the axis set to angular in config>logic, but it still does not work properly.

My second dilemma is that I want to use the same stepper as a spindle motor for turning operations. I have tried numerous configurations and had no success.

I am rather self taught, and can't figure this out. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Royce

Do you have your steps/unit set correctly? What do you mean it's trying to move linearly?

I think you'll need 2 seperate configurations if you want to use it as the spindle. You'll have to disable it as A for spindle use I think. For spindle use it should be controlled by using S. CHeck the manual for more info, as I'm just guessing here.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Ger21

I know I am looking for two different setups, I want to save them as different profiles so that I can open Mach2 with one profile for turning and the other for inlays.