515,626 active members
6,391 visitors online
Register for free
Login

Thread: RS-232

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    39

    Question RS-232

    Hello!

    I would like to download my program file into my Fanuc 21i-T by the RS-232 port.
    Is-it possible? if yes how can i do that?
    The RS-232 pin out is it standard?



  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    64

    RS-232

    As long as you have a serial port on your machine and a cable to connect to your pc. You can use windows hyperterminal to send. Just start a new connection in hyperterminal and make sure all the info matches up to what is on your machine.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    15

    RE-232C

    Software Hand Shake

    DB25(PIN) DB-9 (PIN)
    SD (PIN#2) SD( PIN#3)
    RD (PIN#3) RD (PIN#2)
    SG (PIN#7) SG (PIN#5)

    JUMP (PIN #4 &5) JUMP (PIN #7 & 8)

    JUMP (PIN # 6,8 &20) JUMP (PIN # 1,4 &6)
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Control Side Settings:

    PUNCH CODE = 1 (0:EIA 1:ISO)
    I/O CHANNEL = 0 (JD5A CONNECTOR,CHANNEL 0)

    PARAMETERS
    0000 = XXXXXX10
    0100 = 00000000
    0101 = 10000001
    0102 = 0
    0103 = 10

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6028

    rs232

    Just go to radio shack and get the 9-25 pin cable, and a null modem adapter. Saves trying to make a cable if your not good at it. The parameter settings listed will work, but he didn't give the actual baud rade, parity, stop bits with it. I don't have a manual at my desk to look it up. BTW an i series can use a ATA flash card or compact flash card with an adapter. Much easier than RS232.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by FanucGuru View Post

    PUNCH CODE = 1 (0:EIA 1:ISO)
    I/O CHANNEL = 0 (JD5A CONNECTOR,CHANNEL 0)

    PARAMETERS
    0000 = XXXXXX10
    0100 = 00000000
    0101 = 10000001
    0102 = 0
    0103 = 10
    you forgot to make channel 20=0

    Quote Originally Posted by underthetire View Post
    Just go to radio shack and get the 9-25 pin cable, and a null modem adapter.
    yes that is true i have one and it works.. much easier to buy it.. you are going to need a null modem adapter the 9-25 pin adapter and a gender changer.. .

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6028
    Is 10 4800 or 9600 baud?

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2928
    10 is 4800, 11 is 9600

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    15

    RS232C

    I/O CHANNEL = 0 and Parameter 20 =0 means same thing.........so your parameter 20 will set itself as long as u put 0 on I/O CHANNEL.


    parameter 101 sets teh following values:

    #7 (NFD)
    0 : Feed is output when data is output.
    1 : Feed is not output when data is output.

    #3 (ASI)
    0 : EIA or ISO code is used for input/output data.
    1 : ASCII code is used.

    #0 (SB2) 0 : No. of stop bits is 1.
    1 : No. of stop bits is 2.

    I totally agree PCMCIA Adapter with compact flash hard is the best way to go if you don't have dataserver option.

    I/O CHANNEL = 4 = Parameter 20.


    Parameter: 0103 Baud Rate

    1: 50 5: 200 9: 2400
    2: 100 6: 300 10: 4800
    3: 110 7: 600 11: 9600
    4: 150 8: 1200 12: 19200 [BPS]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •