585,605 active members*
3,136 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > INJECTION PLASTIC BENCHTOP MACHINE
Page 1 of 2 12

INJECTION PLASTIC BENCHTOP MACHINE

Hello, friends.
    You have an amazing forum, I've never seen something like this. Congratulations to everyone!.

Well, I need your expert help. I need an injection plastic benchtop machine ti make my onw hi quality guitar picks (I'm musician).
    Where can I find it? (no too expensive, but good quality, please)
    What's best plastic to make a 3.0mm hard pick? (resistant)

Thank you all.
    Best regards.

A few interesting links.

Hi,

I have no direct experience with plastic injection machines, but I have been looking in the topic quite a bit since I saw a demonstration at a local machine show.

The machine that was demonstrated was from this Montreal company:
    http://www.abplasticinjectors.com/

From what I recall, the person had to position and clamp the mold in the vise and press a button. Some compressed air was driving the machine and within a second, the machine had finished its injection process. It took a few tens of seconds to let the part cool and extract the demo pieces from the mold manually by pulling on the channels. The demo was making some plastic wheels approx 2cm in diameter and 5 mm thick. The machine seemed well built and very easy to operate.

A few other companies that you could look into:
    http://www.minijector.com/products.php
    http://www.gluco.com/
    http://www.travin.co.uk/tp1.html

The above machines all seem to require that you run a small business around it. It would seem that you need to produce a lot of guitar picks to cover the cost of the machine (5k$-10k$).

The cheapest machine I could find was this one:
    http://www.injectionmolder.net/

This link has the plans to make your own that is similar to the one above that you could buy:
    http://www.lindsaybks.com/dgjp/djgbk/inject/index.html