585,930 active members*
3,649 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Talking pulling hair out

hi guys... I'm new to this hobby and have built a cnc machine... gone through all the pain like everyone else to precisly build this thing just so i can make a really big one, using this ugly one to cut the parts. Using mdf and ground rod for the axis's and steppers for the drives it was all going very well indeed..... fired up the thing got the x and y sort of running spent loads of time on the z axis as well. did a test where by jogged out a foot or so and it came back to precisly the exact spot... i couldnt believe it... so i thought lets tune the motors, watched the tutorial and went to work... now the y axis judders... the x and z axis make bad sounds cant seem to get the thing to go any faster..... put all the settings back, tried to eliminate play in the y axis but when i want to make the machine go faster it aint happening... you guys have heard all this before right?

so you can help? please? please?

Quote Originally Posted by radioman View Post
    hi guys... I'm new to this hobby and have built a cnc machine... gone through all the pain like everyone else to precisly build this thing just so i can make a really big one, using this ugly one to cut the parts. Using mdf and ground rod for the axis's and steppers for the drives it was all going very well indeed..... fired up the thing got the x and y sort of running spent loads of time on the z axis as well. did a test where by jogged out a foot or so and it came back to precisly the exact spot... i couldnt believe it... so i thought lets tune the motors, watched the tutorial and went to work... now the y axis judders... the x and z axis make bad sounds cant seem to get the thing to go any faster..... put all the settings back, tried to eliminate play in the y axis but when i want to make the machine go faster it aint happening... you guys have heard all this before right?

so you can help? please? please?