585,888 active members*
4,334 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

EMC2 and Stepperworld FET3 Controller

I have built a homemade CNC and purchased the Stepperworld FET3 controller kit. I'm trying to set up EMC2 to control the CNC.

What a mess. I'm new to Linux and thought that the EMC2 software would be the way to go.

Issues:

1) I've got high latency on the computer. 400,000!!! It's an older computer bought just to run the CNC. I've installed the 8.04 version of Ubuntu and running through LPT1.

2) I can't make head nor tails of how to set up the pinouts for controlling the motors. They make noise (screaming) but there is no rotation when the motors are tested in EMC2.

3) Of course the Stepperworld FET3 control isn't listed in the configuration settings. I've tried most everything I can think of.

If you choose to reply, remember that I'm just starting out and know nothing about anything!

Thanks for any help.

Kevin

Hello Kevin,

Sounds like you're having fun. Okay, regarding the issues ...

1) latency. At first I was going to adress this one, but since you say you're new to linux maybe just first do numero duo. Ofcourse a latency of 400 us is going to seriously limit your stepper speed, so has to be fixed if any actual work is to be done. But 400 us latency is not going to be a problem while doing some slooooow speed jogging of the axis.

2) The pinout ... I hope you do have the pinout of the FET3 kit? If you know that one, it is a simple matter of configuring the right pinout in the right config file.

On the emc side you can configure the parport pinout in a file like for example EMC_DIR/configs/stepper/standard_pinout.hal

The default is something like
    Code:
    # standard pinout config file for 3-axis steppers
    # using a parport for I/O
    #
    # first load the parport driver
    loadrt hal_parport cfg="0x0378"
    #
    # next connect the parport functions to threads
    # read inputs first
    addf parport.0.read base-thread 1