584,837 active members*
5,428 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Odd problem making parts

Hi guys,

I am a rookie with a new CNC Taig but am having some strange issues pop up.

I am running gecko 540s and using Mach3 to control. Using Vectrics Cut2d and Cut3d to generate gcode.

I made several parts and all came out really well - within a few thou. I was cutting on plastic. I moved to aluminum and made a couple of parts and they came out well but I was concerned that the plunging was a bit rough so I thought I would try to ramp in on the plunge depth rather than diving straight in (this is an option in Cut2d).

Here's where the problem started. Using the ramp to start in on a plunge, my part came out looking like a staircase.

This problem also occurs if I lay out several parts to run at the same time and also occurs on a single part if I raster in the x axis for the profile.

I thought maybe it was backlash in the x, but I'm not sure that makes sense. At any rate, I adjusted the backlash nut and put on my dial indicator and my backlash is less than 2 thou and I still have the issue.

Could it be an issue with Mach3 and the incremental mode?

Any ideas or help is definitely appreciated.

Thanks,
    Matt

A picture of the stair-stepping might make it more clear what is happening. Since all you changed is the code, it does not make sense that it would be Mach 3. Try this, mount something to your table that you can indicate against. Set your machine zero to that location. Run one part positioned on the table so that the table does not come back into your indicator. then re-zero the machine to see if it is still reading zero. Repeat for each axis. This will let you know if you are loosing steps or if the G-code is screwy.
    Jeff Birt

Hi Jeff,