585,971 active members*
4,238 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Vortech router opinions & general machine recommendations

Vortech router opinions & general machine recommendations

I'm new to cnc routing. I've a cabinet making shop in southeastern PA and have had many applications where a CNC router would have really helped. I've been looking, and have checked Vortech. I read other threads here, but can someone give me opinions on:

1. Vortech; quality, support, accuracy
    2. I need 4x8 cutting area. Can someone, if not Vortech, recommend a quality machine that won't break the bank?
    3. Is there a cutting "standard" that I can use to check each machine I am interested in? I.e. I want to, say, place a sheet of signboard or some plywood and have a cut session that includes straights, squares, circles etc. that I can use to compare speed and accuracy of different machines.

For the pros in here, this might be repetitive but I thank you in advance for helping a new-comer.

Question

I thought about vortech for a long time but finally opted for a shopbot, got a 4x8 used one to learn with. I went with shopbot because of customer support and their forum. If you have a problem you can get an answer within minutes of posting....control software is very user friendly. They now also offer a e-cabinets link.

www.shopbottools.com

Gene Crain
    www.plantasymaderas.com

Quote Originally Posted by EBC View Post
    I thought about vortech for a long time but finally opted for a shopbot, got a 4x8 used one to learn with. I went with shopbot because of customer support and their forum. If you have a problem you can get an answer within minutes of posting....control software is very user friendly. They now also offer a e-cabinets link.

www.shopbottools.com

Gene Crain
    www.plantasymaderas.com
    Gene:

Thanks for your response. Which model Shopbot did you end up with?

Jeff