585,973 active members*
4,138 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Mazak QT10 T1

Hi all,

New here needing help if possible. I have a early Mazak QT10 Universal with Mazatrol T1 controller. I have never programmed a CNC Lathe before but am learning slowly through the manual i received with the machine. I am having trouble with Z Offset setting, im sure i have most of the program sorted apart from setting the Z. Have read the manual more than enough times (i think)but still cant get it. Anyone have any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks Andrew

Hopefully, I understand you correct, if the Z offset you are talking is measure the tool since you don't tool eye? If that's a yes, OK just bring the tool up to the face(feel the tool with paper..blah blah.... you in the business longer enough I don't think I have to tell you what to do), then go to offset page, highlight Z offset you want, you should see a TEACH..... hit that done. Repeat the same for next tool. Think you can do that for X too.

Get back see where you are.
    The best way to learn is trial error.

Thanks for your reply, yes i do know how to teach the tool measure. What im trying to work out is on a new program at what point do i set the Z offset? Do i zero the Z at the face of the material?

Thanks

Not sure if I understand you correctly, but hope this helps. I always program with z zero on the face. With machines with out a tool eye I have tool #1 as the reference tool. Tool one is a turning tool that always stays in the machine. Tool #1, the ref tool, will always have the tool length offset set to zero. Note that tool length offset and Z offset are two different offsets. I face the stock with tool #1 and set Z offset at that point. Now that zero is established on the stock I can touch off the other tools and set their tool length offset's.
    Since X zero is always the centerline, X offset is always set to zero. Touch off all tools, including ref. tool and set their tool offset.