585,752 active members*
3,697 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > OpenSource CNC Design Center > OpenSource Software > New export to Gcode plug-in for Inkscape
Page 1 of 4 123
Results 1 to 20 of 77
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    36

    New export to Gcode plug-in for Inkscape

    Inkscape is an Open Source vector graphics editor, with capabilities similar to Illustrator, CorelDraw, or Xara X, using the W3C standard Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) file format.

    New plug-in converts path's from Inkscape to Gcode. Major feature of plug-in is using biarc interpolation of Bezier curves instead of straight line interpolation (see examples).
    This means that:
    • you will have smooth objects with out rebuilding the path
    • resulting Gcode will be much more shorter
    • you will save machine time
    • you will save you machine


    Plug-in provides a lot of additional functions:
    • Area processing ("Pocketing")
    • Scaling and offsetting
    • Multi-pass cutting
    • Personal headers and footers for resulting Gcode files
    • ...


    Gcode tools plug-in if freely available for download here:


    Any feedback is appreciated!

    Inkscape is a crossplatform software, here are available versions for Windows, MacOS, Linux, source codes. Inkscape is included in official repositories of Ubuntu, Debian, Puppy and others.
    Tested on:
    • Linux
      • inkscape 0.46 / Ubuntu 9.04
      • inkscape-devel 0.46 / Ubuntu 9.04
      • inkscape 0.47 / Ubuntu 9.04
      • inkscape 0.46 / Ubuntu 8.10

    • Windows
      • inkscape 0.47 / Windows XP
      • inkscape 0.47 / Windows 7


    Sorry for my English, I will appreciate any corrections .

    Here are some examples:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails g83147_005.png   Screqnshot1_800px.png   g4954_800x700.png   0003.png  


  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1662
    It looks like you've completely rewritten the original (Hugomatic's) program.
    I'll be giving this a try. No time now, but feedback by Saturday.
    Inkscape is an excellent and underrated application.

    Thanks
    Anyone who says "It only goes together one way" has no imagination.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    36
    It looks like you've completely rewritten the original (Hugomatic's) program.
    I'll be giving this a try. No time now, but feedback by Saturday.
    Inkscape is an excellent and underrated application.
    That's why I've said New plug-in .

    Hope for the feed back.

  4. #4
    I'm trying to understand G code before to even think to check prices of a CNC machine, and this tool seems really a must for beginners who don't want to deal with a complex (and expensive) CAD.
    I see it is wonderful to make G code from TTF fonts: sign makers will be very happy!
    A big bulk of SVG images, for who don't want to draw, are available on Wikimedia Commons: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:SVG

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156
    I am still a beginner with inkscape and I like it very much, better than
    CAD.
    Could someone tell me how to install this G-code plug-in by telling what to click on during the install. Computer speak makes my eyes cross and my
    mind go blank.
    I have inkscape 047 on my windows XP home edition.
    Appreciate any help anyone can give me with this installation.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by salzburg View Post
    I am still a beginner with inkscape and I like it very much, better than
    CAD.
    Could someone tell me how to install this G-code plug-in by telling what to click on during the install. Computer speak makes my eyes cross and my
    mind go blank.
    I have inkscape 047 on my windows XP home edition.
    Appreciate any help anyone can give me with this installation.

    I'm a Linux man but I can try to give you some clues.
    After you download the file extensions.tar.gz you must decompress it using programs like Gzip or 7-zip.
    Inside the compressed file there are two other files, named gcode_tools.inx and gcode_tools.py.
    Locate on your disk a folder named "extensions" (it must be somewhere inside a folder named "inkscape") and copy the two files there.
    You'll find the G-tools under the "Effects" menu in Inkscape.
    HTH!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156
    Marco, thank you for your quick reply.
    I downloaded the file and when I try to open it with 7-zip a small
    window apears but only for a fraction of a second. It looks like a
    DOS window.
    I have to check if I downloaded a DOS version of 7-zip.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    36
    I've posted ordinary zip archive and instructions here:
    http://www.cnc-club.ru/forum/viewtop...=35&p=122#p122
    if you have problems with it, I can mail you unzipped files.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1662
    Weird results so far. I'm trying to work with a simple oval to test the biarcs and pocketing. Could you please list the parameters needed to to cut this with the x and y centered inside the oval using a .25" endmill. The machine only has 3.75" y travel.

    Thanks

    btw: I can do this outline with the old gcode extension no problem. Maybe I'm trying to apply old thinking to a new program
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Anyone who says "It only goes together one way" has no imagination.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    36
    Gcode tools takes internal Inkscape's units (px). Conversion to " and mm is done with out any calculations so 1px=1" or 1mm depending on which unit is selected.
    So if you want your ellipse be 2" long you should make it 2px long in the Inkscape. Or you can set scaling in the params tab.

    If you want your ellipse be centered by x and y just put it in the following position: x = -xRadius y = -yRadius or -width/2 and - height/2. Or set up offsets.

    Also I think subdivision you have done is a little redundant. You can try smaller values of subdivision.

    By the way it could be useful for other users if you post your questions at the English support forum

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1662
    Your program is less tolerant of offset shifting than the old extension. I think the problem involves how inkscape counts pixels and the y0 origin. That's not to say the program is broken, inkscape treats this concept differently than a CAD program. It may not confuse you but it confuses me and will confuse some others.

    I will post back when I can explain more clearly, possibly to your forum.

    The included pics show one way the old extension can shift offsets

    edit/ btw: the screenshots are inkscape 0.47 in Mepis Linux. If the extensions run on this they should run on any recent Debian Linux.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails snapshot2.png   snapshot4.jpg   snapshot3.png  
    Anyone who says "It only goes together one way" has no imagination.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1662
    The non-parametric code is having problems with new lines.
    Code:
    5: G00 Z1.000000G00 X-151.928080 Y-2.361681G01 Z-0.100000 F4.000000
    Anyone who says "It only goes together one way" has no imagination.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by cyclestart View Post
    The non-parametric code is having problems with new lines.
    Code:
    5: G00 Z1.000000G00 X-151.928080 Y-2.361681G01 Z-0.100000 F4.000000
    Hmmm... I do not see any problems with this line.
    Has this line been corrected or not?

    PS non parametric mode is optional and it has not been tested carefully.
    Gcode tools support forums
    English: http://www.cnc-club.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=35

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1662
    2 or more commands from the same modal group on 1 line is a gcode error

    it should be more like this
    Code:
    %
    (Generated by gcode_tools from inkscape.) 
    M3 
    G20 (All units in inches)(Found curve path2897)
    G00 Z1.000000
    G00 X-151.928080 Y-2.361681
    G01 Z-0.100000 F4.000000                             (broken into 3 lines now)
    G00 X331.927940 Y-2.361684F4.000000         (should be G01)
    G00 Z1.000000 
    M5 
    G00 X0.0000 Y0.0000 
    M2 
    (end)
    %
    Quote Originally Posted by Var View Post
    PS non parametric mode is optional and it has not been tested carefully.
    It's new software.
    A few bugs are expected.
    Anyone who says "It only goes together one way" has no imagination.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    36
    Thanks for the bug report

    I think I've fixed them.

    New version is in the same place (first post in the thread): http://www.cnc-club.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=35
    Gcode tools support forums
    English: http://www.cnc-club.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=35

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1662
    My current machine has limited travel and the smallest tool at hand is 1/8".

    Anway here's something simple. The biarcs worked really well but I got a little sloppy with the food coloring

    btw: the bug fix was a success. Thank you.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails treble_clef.jpg  
    Anyone who says "It only goes together one way" has no imagination.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    36
    New version of Gcode tools has been released!

    What's new:

    1. Automatic path subdivision. When approximating path's segment with biarc approximation error beeing calculated. It's maximum distance from segment to biarc. If it exceeds defined value the segment will be split into two segments and each of them will be approximated again. Splitting repeats until Biarc approximation or maximum splitting depth is reached.
    2. "Area inkscape" is "Calculate area curves" this naming is more suitable for this function. Because it calculates curves that cover path's area. It becomes easier to work with this function.
    3. Area to Gcode removed because it was to buggy and it worked to slow and more... You should use combination of Calculate area curves and Path to Gcode instead.
    4. Some optimization of traverse added.


    Gcode tools ver. 1.2 is freely available at the header of this thread: http://www.cnc-club.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=35
    Manual for this version can be found here: http://www.cnc-club.ru/forum/viewtop...&start=20#p141

    Attached picture illustrates advantages if the new version:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails g24649.jpg  
    Gcode tools support forums
    English: http://www.cnc-club.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=35

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    36
    Good news everyone!

    Beta version of Gcode tools 1.4 is ready!


    New features:
    1. Engraving
    This function calculates trajectory to cut thin places and sharp angles with the cone or sphere cutter.
    For example if you want to engrave a flower, with 15mm cylindrical cutter you can cut only light green area, but not the thin places and sharp corners. Engraving function creates trajectory to cut that places with conical or other not straight cylindrical cutter. See attached image for more details.

    2. Some other minor changes / bug fixes to make plug-in working more stable.

    We need your help!
    Almost all is ready, but there are still some question with the interface. It is understandable for us because we are developers, and now we need to make it more user friendly. Also we need corrections of our English.

    Gcode tools 1.4 beta version is available here:
    http://www.cnc-club.ru/forum/viewtop...=35&p=355#p355
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails gcode_engraving_0024.png  
    Gcode tools support forums
    English: http://www.cnc-club.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=35

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3

    Windows issue?

    For some reason the only files I could get to work in inkscape here on my windows machine was the .zip file listed. I tried the other .tar.gz files which I uncompressed and extracted with winzip. But every time I tried to create a gcode file I got a traceback error. Not sure if this is something that I'm doing wrong or not. But I will say this, the 1.0 version (I believe is what it is) is really really cool and I've been having a blast trying it out tonight.

    Chris

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1662
    Quote Originally Posted by goneflyin View Post
    every time I tried to create a gcode file I got a traceback error. Not sure if this is something that I'm doing wrong or not.
    It may be something you're doing wrong. Gcode_tools has it's own forum with a few tutorials @ cnc-club.ru . In my experience most of the traceback errors are the result of including something that is not a path. Pasting the traceback in here (or on their own forum) might give Var something to go on ?

    But I will say this, the 1.0 version (I believe is what it is) is really really cool and I've been having a blast trying it out tonight.
    Likewise
    This software pushed me to clobber together a crude router. I'm having a blast carving out stuff for the grandkiddies.

    edit/ Should have mentioned I'm running in Linux. Not sure if that's a factor.
    Anyone who says "It only goes together one way" has no imagination.

Page 1 of 4 123

Similar Threads

  1. Please Help Me With INKSCAPE
    By diarmaid in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 10-29-2010, 11:47 AM
  2. inkscape to G-code
    By Dan Falck in forum OpenSource Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-13-2010, 01:06 PM
  3. Getting to Lazy Cam from Inkscape
    By John Tribe in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-22-2008, 12:04 AM
  4. inkscape drawing for lathe
    By ChinaMan in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-17-2007, 02:05 AM
  5. GcodeOut - Export gcode to Turbocnc
    By wjbzone in forum Autodesk
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-14-2004, 01:22 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •