585,758 active members*
4,456 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    36

    Fanuc OTC rigid tapping help

    I am having trouble tapping with a Fanuc OT C control, I have been getting a PS alarm 011 the book says no feed rate commanded. below I am putting in that block of code. it only a 4 flute 1/2 - 28 tap going in a .453" hole.
    here is the block from the program. I have a depth and a feed rate unless I need to format it differently?
    Thanks
    47MLB

    T1010;
    GO Z0.200 M8;
    G0 XO.0;
    M29 S300;
    G99 G1 Z-0.570 F0.0357;
    G0 Z0.700 M9;
    M4 G1Z0.1;
    M5;
    ;

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    167
    on the line starting with G99, you should have G84 instead of G1.

    I am also not sure why you have the line starting with M4 at all, and I assume XO.0 is supposed to be X0.0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792
    The given program will break your tap.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    46
    G84 M29 Z- R F <- sometimes on some fanucs you will have to supply M29 (riggid taping without compensation head) in G84 line and set S300 M3 before
    but mostly works like you specified but with G84 instead of G1

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    36

    rigid taping help

    Thanks for the help
    I tried the G84 in place of the G1 and got another error 205 Rigid mode DI signal off.
    the explanation from the book is [rigid mode DI signal is not ON when G84 (G74) is executed through the rigid M code (M29) is specified. consult the pmc ladder diagram to find the reason the DI signal (DGNG061.11) is not turned on.]
    I have a ladder list but did not see M29 or G84 listed?

    looks like I will have to get one of those tapping heads unless I can learn how to get past this?

    Thanks
    47MLB

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6028
    Sounds like you need to buy the rigid tap option to me.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    36

    OTC rigid tapping

    What do you mean buy the option?
    I already bought the machine it has a 12 station turret with live tools and C axis. I thought it would be able to do what I am asking?
    This is still new to me so I am still learning isnt there a way to just turn on the option if one already owns the machine?
    This machine has been much more challenging than I had anticipated.

    But thanks for all the comments.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6028
    Option-something you have to pay extra for

    A lot of lathes, even with live tooling, can't rigid tap with the spindle. They can with a live tool, but since the chuck/part weight can vary so much, it makes it hard to tune the rigid tap on the main spindle. You need to check with the builder before you spin your wheels.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    36
    Thanks for the input. Now that I am waiting for the floating head to arrive is there a way to turn off sections or skip portions of the program. for example the one I posted now I want to run the program everything except for the tapping.
    I do not have an interface cable yet so I am entering everything by hand and single stepping untill I get it right.
    would say the G31 Skip function work?
    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2932
    Skip signal (G31) is used for probing applications. You can use M99 Pnnn to jump to Nnnn:

    T0909
    ...
    ...
    M01
    M99 P102 (JUMP TO N102)

    T1010;
    G0 Z0.200 M8;
    G0 X0.0;
    M29 S300;
    G99 G1 Z-0.570 F0.0357;
    G0 Z0.700 M9;
    M4 G1Z0.1;
    M5;

    N102 (NEXT TOOL)
    T1111
    ...
    ...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    167
    Quote Originally Posted by dcoupar View Post
    Skip signal (G31) is used for probing applications. You can use M99 Pnnn to jump to Nnnn:

    T0909
    ...
    ...
    M01
    M99 P102 (JUMP TO N102)

    T1010;
    G0 Z0.200 M8;
    G0 X0.0;
    M29 S300;
    G99 G1 Z-0.570 F0.0357;
    G0 Z0.700 M9;
    M4 G1Z0.1;
    M5;

    N102 (NEXT TOOL)
    T1111
    ...
    ...
    Or you may be able to use:

    T0909
    ...
    ...
    M01
    GOTO102

    T1010;
    G0 Z0.200 M8;
    G0 X0.0;
    M29 S300;
    G99 G1 Z-0.570 F0.0357;
    G0 Z0.700 M9;
    M4 G1Z0.1;
    M5;

    N102 (NEXT TOOL)
    T1111
    ...

    or turn on block skip and use this:

    T0909
    ...
    ...
    M01
    /T1010;
    /G0 Z0.200 M8;
    /G0 X0.0;
    /M29 S300;
    /G99 G1 Z-0.570 F0.0357;
    /G0 Z0.700 M9;
    /M4 G1Z0.1;
    /M5;
    N102 (NEXT TOOL)
    T1111
    ...

    or a combination of both, only this has block skip turned off to skip the tapping:

    T0909
    ...
    ...
    M01
    /GOTO102 (or you can use M99 P102)

    T1010;
    G0 Z0.200 M8;
    G0 X0.0;
    M29 S300;
    G99 G1 Z-0.570 F0.0357;
    G0 Z0.700 M9;
    M4 G1Z0.1;
    M5;

    N102 (NEXT TOOL)
    T1111
    ...

    As you can see, there are quite a few ways to do it...it just depends on machine options and personal preference.

    regards, Oz

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    36

    fanuc rigid tapping help

    Thanks I just tried the first option it skipped as intended but the block it skipped to the rpm went faster than anticipated into panic mode.
    Here is what it looks like below it is only a light thread in and out to give a diamond pattern about .020” deep. On the second example if I need to type the (goto102) I have not figured out how to type text on the control yet? And is the block skip the same as the block delete switch?
    Thanks again

    T0000;
    ;
    M01;
    M99 P102;
    T1010;
    G0 Z1.0 M8;
    G0 X0.0;
    Z0.05;
    M29 S560;
    G98 G84 Z-0.570 R-0.01 P50 F20.0;
    G80;
    G0 Z0.700 M9;
    G0 G28 X0.0;
    G0 G28 Z-3.0;
    ;
    N102;
    T10000;
    T1115;
    M4 S300;
    M8;
    G0 X1 Z0.02;
    G76 X0.88 F0.01;
    Z-0.6 F0.1;
    G0 X1.05;
    G0 G28 X0.0;
    G0 G28 Z-3.0;
    ;

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1511
    Back to your original question. You are using G99 so depending on what G-code system you are using A,B or C it will mean different things. If using system A then you are setting feed per revolution. If you are using system B or C then you are setting to use the R-plane as the return point in your canned cycle but you do not speicify an R-plane.

    Try this.
    T1010
    G0X.0
    Z.2M8
    M3S300
    M29
    G84G99Z-.570F.0357R.2
    G0G80Z.7M9
    M5

    Also check your PM box regarding your rigid tap.

    Stevo

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    36
    Thank you all for your help.
    I found I am using A and I have my floating taping head now.
    I am using a G1 giving a depth and a f0.0357 for my feed. its a 1/2 28 tap.
    Here is whats been working
    M3 150
    G1 Z-0.660 F0.0357
    M5
    G4 UO.5
    M4 S150
    G1 Z0.100 F0.0357
    M5

    Thanks
    47MLB

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 05-01-2014, 07:02 AM
  2. Rigid Tapping G-Gode for Fanuc Pro 3
    By need-a-day-off in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-26-2010, 08:25 PM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-04-2009, 12:43 AM
  4. rigid tapping on miyano with fanuc 18i
    By terrywinstr in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2009, 11:33 AM
  5. Rigid tapping or tapping head
    By kentavv in forum Charter Oak Automation Support Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-24-2006, 06:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •