531,781 active members*
2,397 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    56

    Single Line Font?

    I have downloaded this utility and it looks great. I am anxious to engrave an operating panel with switch labels, direction indicators, etc.

    Is there such a thing as a single line TTF? Every font I select always gets an outline. I would prefer a just a single line letter. I will be doing very small letters (like .30" high) and engraving an outline of the letter will make it appear very thick.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    552
    When you first open the program up it defaults to a single line font. Just don't select a font.

    Darek

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    56
    Wow, that was easy. I thought you had to select one. Thanks Darek.

    By the way, I sent a private message (PM) to you a few weeks ago. You asked where I was in TN. I am in Winchester, which is about halfway between Chattanooga and Nashville.

    Thanks for all of the help!

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    552
    Howdy Neighbor,

    I got your PM and just left you a PM.

    Darek

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    16

    question on Desk Engrave Stick 40 Font

    A few weeks ago I was looking for a single line font for engraving. Someone told me about Desk Engrave and I started using it. I like it but I seem to be having problems with some of the letter when working with a text height at 0.30". It seems that the letter I (eye) is \ rather an straight up. I also notice that it appears that sometimes the Z axis does not lift off between letters. Is it the font or my machine. I am running Mach2.

    :drowning:

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    552
    You should be able to see any discrepancies in the Toolpath window of Mach 2. If the toolpath also shows the I like \ , then the code was generated wrong. Same applies to the Z moves.

    Darek

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    16
    Thanks, I just now realized I had a help folder in Mach2. I saw how to zoom in on the window. Thanks

  8. #8
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    552
    This may need to be in the Mach 2 forum. What I am seeing is plotted right but when executed the two G00 moves in succession are ran as a single line of code, not in single step though. I tried G61 exact stop mode with no difference. I broke the double G00's with a G01 and it executes properly.

    (EXAMPLE)
    N72 X0.049 Y0.016
    N73 G00 Z0.100
    G01
    N74 G00 X0.308 Y0.011
    N76 G01 Z-0.100 F5.0

    Darek

  9. #9
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    552
    After exiting and restarting it works fine now (Mach 2).

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    16

    Desk Engrave and Stick 40 Fonts.

    I think I discovered something that may be interesting to other folks on the forum. Several weeks ago I finished my cnc router and installed an engraving tool on it after testing it with a router. My main ambition was to do small letters with an engraver.

    At that time I started looking for some form of stick type or one line font. Someone guided me toward Desk Engrave. I loaded it and thought it was the berries. What I found was that when I exported (small text) as a DXF file and imported it into Mach2, some of the letters were not straight or the Z axis did not pick up between letters. This seemed to happen on text smaller than 0.50" high with a precision of 8. The letter I (eye) would look like a backslash.

    I also have a plasma cutter with Flashcut CNC Controls. I exported the file out of Desk Engrave and imported it into the Flashcut Program. It looked ok. Flashcut makes a G code file with a FGC extension. After Flashcut had done the G code, I then imported this fgc file into Mach2 and everything was perfect. The only thing I can think is that Mach2 gets confused on the vectoring of the small font.

Similar Threads

  1. Single line font issue
    By pcbmiller in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-31-2020, 02:51 PM
  2. Single line font
    By ErnieD in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-31-2020, 02:48 PM
  3. Russian single line font
    By kuki in forum Uncategorised CAD Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-31-2020, 02:47 PM
  4. Single line font plt creator
    By Frost in forum Engraving Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-31-2020, 02:43 PM
  5. SINGLE LINE FONT
    By xxshuaxx in forum Engraving Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2020, 02:39 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •