540,523 active members*
1,753 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3

    Solidcam POST Processor for Mach3 Turn

    Included is a Modified FANUC2013 Turn postprocessor for SolidCam, posted by some kind person on this forum. I don't remember exactly where i downloaded it.
    I sat down to make it work with my Mach3 lathe and Solidcam2015, studied the Gcode, and found what needed to bed fixed.

    I have done the following modifications to make it work with Mach3:
    Removed the program number with colons which made mach3 protest.
    Included missing spindle speed in a G98/G97 line, which made mach3 protest.
    Adjusted the startup and end coordinates to fit within my relatively small (14") lathes working area. ADJUST THESE TO FIT YOUR MACHINE!!!
    Swapped G2 and G3 because solidcam works above the part, and mach3 below the part. X and Z directions are the same, but arcs go the wrong way.
    Swapped arc direction by changing where the radius is output as negative vs positive, for the same reason as above. Puts the arc on the right side of the desired path.

    The post was tested by drawing up a test part, with inside and outside turning, arcs and angles in several directions with 2 tools in one operation.
    It ran fine without any problem, just loaded and pressed cycle start.
    Picture of part and simulation screenshot in mach3 included in the zip, posttest1/2/3.jpg
    I take no responsibility for any faults in the modified post. It works for me, and i hope it works for you as well.
    Have fun!

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    973

    Re: Solidcam POST Processor for Mach3 Turn

    Thanks for the info.

    I have a retrofitted lathe which is a simple 2 axis lathe. Spindle turns only one direction. Can I use your PP with it?

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3
    Absolutely. Ny lathe is also a small retrofit, with manual diection change and manual speed select. Works fine.
    Feel free to ask if something is unclear.

    Quote Originally Posted by Azalin View Post
    Thanks for the info.

    I have a retrofitted lathe which is a simple 2 axis lathe. Spindle turns only one direction. Can I use your PP with it?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    973

    Re: Solidcam POST Processor for Mach3 Turn

    That's great. I'll try it soon. Thanks

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    973

    Re: Solidcam POST Processor for Mach3 Turn

    Hi again,

    Exactly which lines do I need to modify?

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    973

    Re: Solidcam POST Processor for Mach3 Turn

    I edited the tool change position to X120, Y200. However after tool change it tried to go to minus coordinates and almost crashed the part. I guess there are more lines I need to edit.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    973

    Re: Solidcam POST Processor for Mach3 Turn

    To be more specific, the first image is from SC. The second is from Mach3 with the gcode generated with your PP.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails sc.jpg   m3.jpg  

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1

    Re: Solidcam POST Processor for Mach3 Turn

    i have tried this, i know its an old thread ,but it wont appear in the dropdown for turning post processors in solidcam2014 its only under milling

    any ideas?
    or is there an up to date version that works solidcam 2014 to mach3 turn
    cheers

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    138

    Re: Solidcam POST Processor for Mach3 Turn

    I know this is an old one but, how do I adjust the lathes working area and where is it found?

Similar Threads

  1. post processor for solidcam mach3 turn
    By shoke in forum SolidCAM for SolidWorks and SolidCAM for Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-16-2018, 10:39 AM
  2. Mach3 Turn Post Processor
    By kenwoodhf in forum Dolphin CAD/CAM
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-17-2016, 04:30 PM
  3. solidcam mach3 4th axis post processor
    By mioduz in forum SolidCAM for SolidWorks and SolidCAM for Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-07-2014, 01:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •