550,247 active members*
3,030 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Solidworks > Solidworks -> Cam Software -> Mach3
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    394

    Solidworks -> Cam Software -> Mach3

    Okay, I understand I need to go from my Solidworks software, to a cam software, to Mach3.

    But, which Cam software is the best to work with Solidworks, yet, cheap? Cheap, as in under $500

    I will be using 3 axis with a 4th axis added later in the future.

    I was thinking Artcam Express, but it doesn't seem to do 4th axis?

    Any help is appreciated, thank you.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    668
    I don't think "best", "Cheap" and "4th axis" come anywhere near each other... I used to use various cheap CAM, then hand edit the code for anything the software doesn't do - especially 4th axis...

  3. #3
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35476
    Do you want something to work with 3D models. If so, do you want it to read solidworks files or step or iges? Those will most likely be over your budget.

    ArtCAM Express is more of an all in one design/CAM package, and would probably only import 2D .dxf files or .stl files. However, for a lot of router work, 2D CAM is usually much faster and more efficient.

    What exactly do you plan on making? Different CAM packages work much better for some things than others.

    Deskproto's Hobby license is probably the cheapest 4th axis software out there. There's also MeshCAM, but it only does indexed 4th axis.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    29
    One more option is HSMXpress, do keep in mind it only does 2D operations, but I believe does support a 4th-axis.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    317
    HSMXpress is great but does not support 4th axis. For that you would need the full HSMWorks, which is not even close to $500.

    C|

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by cygnus x-1 View Post
    HSMXpress is great but does not support 4th axis. For that you would need the full HSMWorks, which is not even close to $500.

    C|
    Thought it supported the indexing, but too bad then!

    Sent from my C5503 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    317
    Quote Originally Posted by laurensschu View Post
    Thought it supported the indexing, but too bad then!

    Sent from my C5503 using Tapatalk

    To be honest I've never actually looked for it. But I've been using HSMXpress for almost 2 years and I've never seen anything that indicates it might do 4-axis indexing. It would be cool if it did though.

    C|

  8. #8
    You can do 4th Axis by having a new WCS for each orientation.

    Bit, CYGNUS is correct. for proper 4th Axis you would need HSMWorks

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    29
    Yes we do understand, you would a least need HSMWorks to do 4 axis simultaneous. But most people only use indexing anyway.

    Sent from my C5503 using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    2

    Re: Solidworks -> Cam Software -> Mach3

    To be honest, I can't say that this software is actually good, but for some people, it might be the best one among others. I just feel like they could use a more dedicated development team while creating these products, but who knows, maybe I'm just way too picky, and I have pretty high requirements for a software.

Similar Threads

  1. I have Haas and Solidworks and need CAM Software
    By bmwjoe in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2012, 02:19 PM
  2. Solidworks + Mach3
    By Simon Wells in forum Mach Wizards, Macros, & Addons
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-13-2011, 04:43 PM
  3. Solidworks to Mach3
    By spaltiel in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-03-2010, 11:25 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-16-2009, 12:43 AM
  5. FEA software for Solidworks
    By georgebarr in forum Solidworks
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-17-2006, 04:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •