535,637 active members*
3,810 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    564

    Spel software for seiko robots

    Hi,
    Was wondering if anyone here has experience with seiko robots, particularily SPEL for windows or Darlspec??
    I want to know if there is a way to proggram a seiko/epson robot to be used as an engraver for text (this is a small robot), I only see point to point movements available? Am I correct? or am I just not being creative enough?

    Thanks
    menomana

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    spel language- engraver

    Hi,
    I have an accussembler from seiko and I use it as a CNC.
    Though your message is old, I would like to know if you have solved your problem?
    Thanks
    Best regards
    Mahia2005

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    46
    Hi mahia2005

    how have you got your robot setup
    does it use spel for programing or have you retrofitted it
    i have a Suwa Seikosha SSR-H 414 but i dont have anything to program it with and have been having trouble finding a copy of spel for windows
    any info would be greatly appreciated
    cheers
    harty

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    Hi Harty,
    I have a floppy disk with software inside (it uses SPEL language). I have also the paper documentation (offered to me by a lithuanian researcher. Many thanks to him).
    It seems than the software can work with SSR H503N MZ manipulator.
    My robot is a cartesian one, driven with SRC 42 control unit.
    I use the robot as CNC mainly. From time to time i do OTP programming on it.
    I am looking for a tool to convert points data from DXF to spel compatible format.
    Do you have a copy of spel to setup your robot?
    Thanks
    Mahia2005

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    46
    Hi mahia2005

    thanks for the reply
    i have a Suwa Seikosha SSR-H 414 not functioning at the moment it has an error code come up that i cant get a descrition for i have a manual but it lists error 20 with no info and finding any info on the net has been difficult to say the least
    and unfortunatly i dont have any software to program it
    i was considering retrofitting it with emc2 as i run it on both my lahe and mill
    but at this point i would love to just get it moving

    cheers
    harty

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    Hi harty,
    You need SPEL to run your machine.
    Here I use SEHSPC.exe (size: 238k). it's the SPEL software.
    Do you have this software in your computer?
    In my manual there is nothing in front of error 20.
    mahia2005

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    564
    Hello and sorry for such a tardy reply!

    I am running a 4 axis seiko TT8030. I am using Darlspc/spel software.
    I had a hard time loading the controller interface to my laptop as there was not much detail in the manual I have. I had to modify (in DOS) my ANSI files and Config files to get the interface to work.
    then it was trial and error building comm. cables to interface between controller and PC...I learned a lot about comm cables this way....
    Right now I can do a 2d image in autocad, I have to plot in all the "X/Y" co-ordinates manually, until a another person (can't remember the name at the moment) gave me a small autocad macro program that created a simple X/Y list right onto the cad drawing. I then take those values and manually type them into the spel software adding in Z heights and wait points ect..
    This is very time consuming. I have looked into useing the EMC2 software but never really had a chance to figure it out as, my first son was born and other priorities took over in life. I am still interested in finding a more modern interface, I know that there is spel for "windows" but it wont work with my 1980's dinoausar of a robot.
    Error code 20 in my manual just says "reserved" I would presume it is for the operating sys/start up checks or some darn thing?
    menomana

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    564
    Any luck getting your system up and running yet?
    menomana

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    46
    Hi trubleshtr

    no luck here but then again i havent spent much time trying either
    2 young kids and building an aircraft leave little time for tinkering at the moment

    cheers
    Harty

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    0

    Epson Scara Robot EC251C

    I have a epson EC251c scada 4 axis robot with a src320J controller, but the problem is I dont have the SPEL for Windows software, I am trying to look for one, Is there any website I can download?? Or can anyone share or post the software. Thanks

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by eddiechiacp View Post
    I have a epson EC251c scada 4 axis robot with a src320J controller, but the problem is I dont have the SPEL for Windows software, I am trying to look for one, Is there any website I can download?? Or can anyone share or post the software. Thanks
    I have SPEL for Windows version 2.3 (the most recent version). I have not posted it anywhere, but you can email me: jnir at shipmantech dot com

    I will send you the software.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    0
    THANKS,
    My email address is eddiechiacp@yahoo.com. Is the file big?
    Eddie

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    0
    hi jnir:
    I have a epson EC251c scada 4 axis robot with a src320 controller too. could you share me you software too? thanks.
    Finally, I have a question, is there any software to make it more automated robots?
    just like mahia2005 side:I am looking for a tool to convert points data from DXF to spel compatible format.
    thanks.

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    0
    jnir
    THANKS,
    My email address is My_Faith2013@yahoo.cn .

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    61

    Re: Spel software for seiko robots

    Hi All,

    I have SRC320 together with ES551C robot arm, also need SPEL for Windows version 2.3. Can somebody help me?
    here is my email: vrasak@hotmail.com

    many thanks
    Weerasak K.

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    4

    Re: Spel software for seiko robots

    I have a SRC310 with a H454BN robot arm. I really need some software to programme SPEL? this since i got it from a company that never used the software itself.
    I am trying to use it in education.
    regards johan

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    4

    Re: Spel software for seiko robots

    I have the software if anyone is interested speleditor that is

Similar Threads

  1. Spel Software for Windows
    By D.Haller in forum RC Robotics and Autonomous Robots
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2020, 11:14 PM
  2. Hitachi-Seiko H-CUT 304P
    By Chris Norris in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-12-2013, 07:25 PM
  3. hitachi seiko 48v spindle
    By beekeeper in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-17-2010, 11:19 PM
  4. Need Help Converting a Seiko robot to Step/Dir
    By Vic Cutter in forum Granite Devices
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2010, 10:41 PM
  5. Epson Seiko Accusembler CNC Conversion Help
    By tomskk in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-02-2007, 06:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •