548,591 active members*
1,854 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > Spindle rated vs peak amps
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Spindle rated vs peak amps

    Hi, could anyone advise if I should set the vfd to the rated spindle current or the max (peak) one in order to get maximum performance from it?

    Odoslané z M2007J3SG pomocou Tapatalku

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13141

    Re: Spindle rated vs peak amps

    Quote Originally Posted by azrael_sk View Post
    Hi, could anyone advise if I should set the vfd to the rated spindle current or the max (peak) one in order to get maximum performance from it?

    Odoslané z M2007J3SG pomocou Tapatalku
    Spindle name plate Rated Amps is normally used, if you have the Peak amps rating, then use that. 7.8 is close to normal, although a little low, for that 2.2 Kw motor, the normal being 8.5A to 10A for that 2.2Kw size spindle, so use the peak Amps rating for the Parameter setting.
    Mactec54

  3. #3

    Re: Spindle rated vs peak amps

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    Spindle name plate Rated Amps is normally used, if you have the Peak amps rating, then use that. 7.8 is close to normal, although a little low, for that 2.2 Kw motor, the normal being 8.5A to 10A for that 2.2Kw size spindle, so use the peak Amps rating for the Parameter setting.
    OK, thanks for your input.
    I got it set to rated amps now, but was wondering if I can set it higher safely and as you wrote it is indeed higher for other 2.2 kW spindles I've seen.
    The Invertek VFD is OK up to 10.5 A so should be fine with the 9.2 A peak.

    Odoslané z M2007J3SG pomocou Tapatalku

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    912

    Re: Spindle rated vs peak amps

    They usually state a time limit for peak (s6) of something like 30 minutes while the rated current (S1) is for continuous use.

    I personally would never set my VFD above the rated specs. Any potential benefit would be negligible compared to the risk. It's not going to add any capability.

    Most people will only ever use a tiny fraction of their spindle's rated power anyway. I've yet to use more than 15% on mine when cutting aluminum.

    If you're stalling your spindle your feeds and speeds are set wrong. Overloading the spindle is very unlikely to help.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-15-2015, 12:36 AM
  2. Are stepper motors rated peak current or RMS current?
    By tauntdesigns in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-25-2014, 04:32 AM
  3. Driving stepper with more/less than rated amps?
    By MoparJon in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-16-2008, 02:46 AM
  4. Amps Peak Stall, Continuous? I'm confused!
    By dfstrasser in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-28-2007, 10:27 PM
  5. RMS versus Peak Amps - Stepper Driver
    By kochevnik in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-17-2006, 02:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •