543,876 active members*
2,505 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: STEP file

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    55

    STEP file

    Hey guys hope someone can help with this

    Been a while since i used bobcad but i imported a STEP file and need to get it on the right view and make it a dxf so that my other software can read it. I can get it to the right view but after that no mater what i try i cant get it to select anything . i just need the outside perimeter of the the drawing. I dont need the 3d but only a 2d and saved to dxf and i cant get it to work. any help will be appreciated .

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    209

    Re: STEP file

    what ver BC?
    you have tried extract edges?
    David L. Aery
    www.hooksolutions.com

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    55

    Re: STEP file

    v27 and no i havent couldnt figure out how to do that.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    209

    Re: STEP file

    go to Utilities, to Extract Edges, to single, then select your surface, click ok. now you need to hide your stp file and then your lines will show up. and then save as dxf, hope that works.
    David L. Aery
    www.hooksolutions.com

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    55

    Re: STEP file

    so i opened it up got the view i wanted and went to utilites then a box with project to z came on . selected my surface hit ok and then went over to the cad and hit hide and nothing is showing up at all.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    209

    Re: STEP file

    when you do the hide are you point and click to select to hide or drawing a window around what you are hiding?. if you are using the window, then that will hide the extracted lines also.
    David L. Aery
    www.hooksolutions.com

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    55

    Re: STEP file

    so i need to save it in the right view as a dxf i dont get how to do that . I am looking at the right view and when i save it as a dxf it gives me a top or bottom view.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    209

    Re: STEP file

    sounds like you need to use the USC or if I was doing this I would use Translate or rotate to get the view i want in the top view of the workspace., then I think you extract would work.
    David L. Aery
    www.hooksolutions.com

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    209

    Re: STEP file

    i sent you a private message
    David L. Aery
    www.hooksolutions.com

Similar Threads

  1. step file
    By amnon in forum UG NX
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-18-2018, 06:07 AM
  2. Step file issues
    By brianpfeifer1 in forum Tutorials
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-15-2016, 04:39 AM
  3. Step file 3D Milling
    By Koblenzer in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-24-2011, 06:36 PM
  4. step file
    By ataxy in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-14-2008, 03:31 PM
  5. How to edit MPFAN post file step by step
    By m_bhui in forum Post Processors for MC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-04-2008, 11:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •