545,577 active members*
7,077 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    83

    Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    I know I should be running 220V, but that's not an option in my shop. :-(

    I have an air cooled spindle out of china. 24,000RPM, 2 Pole, 1.5KW (pic attached). I would like some advice on a VFD that can handle the 110V. I am also using 0-10V to control RPM, so that is a requirement. This is attached to my AvidCNC Desktop Pro 2436 machine.

    Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12527

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    Quote Originally Posted by DingbatCA View Post
    I know I should be running 220V, but that's not an option in my shop. :-(

    I have an air cooled spindle out of china. 24,000RPM, 2 Pole, 1.5KW (pic attached). I would like some advice on a VFD that can handle the 110V. I am also using 0-10V to control RPM, so that is a requirement. This is attached to my AvidCNC Desktop Pro 2436 machine.

    Thoughts?
    Huanyang make one that would run that ok
    Mactec54

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    83

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    I was hoping for something a little better quality then the Huanyang VFD's.

  4. #4
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35475

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    Nobody really makes them other than the cheap chinese ones.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12527

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    Quote Originally Posted by DingbatCA View Post
    I was hoping for something a little better quality then the Huanyang VFD's.
    Better than a Huanyang most VFD Drives are all made in China so what do you call better quality, the quality VFD Drive manufactures don't make such a drive for good reason, most don't have the power requirement's to run a VFD Drive for residential use on 120v power supply, these that are available are made to make a sale there is no such thing as 120v 3phase power in NA you will need around a 25A supply to run your 120v 3 phase1.5Kw spindle motor
    Mactec54

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    83

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    I have a 20A circuit @ 120V. That should give me around 16A usable. 120v*16a = 1920watts (1.9KW). My spindle is only rated for 1.5KW. But I understand... Guess I need to solve this correctly an get 220V into my shop.

  7. #7
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23721

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    I call better quality in VFD's such as Mitsubishi et-al, these are primarily made and developed in the Nagoya plant, you cannot compare them to Huanyang, who uses a Japanese Micro-controller anyway.
    The features, quality and support out-weigh Huanyang by a mile,
    When I looked into it, I found out the the Huanyang primarily produce the units in Huan and then are sold through their Chinese sales office, the members of which do not appear to have any sufficient knowledge for technical support, when I made some technical inquiries, they sent me a couple of videos that looked like they had been made in someones basement, the meter they were using were the old moving coil analogue type.No grounding or shielding.
    If and when I have ever needed Mits support, the local offices in both Canada and US are staffed by very knowledgeable personell who have a thorough knowledge of the equipment
    Also prices are becoming much more competitive.
    ,
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    83

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    So something like this one? MITSUBISHI FR-D720-042-N7 ?

    I understand that VFD is only good for 4.2A@220V (924W), and my motor can handle 8A@110V(880W) (according to the name plate). But the logic in my brain says the wattage is the same. The FR-D720-042-N7 VFD would work and be able to drive my spindle to 100%???? Assuming I feed the VFD a proper 220V. Did I get that right?

  9. #9
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23721

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    I am not sure if Mits supplies a 120v version, your choice may be limited, unfortunately!
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    83

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    Assuming I feed the VFD a proper 220V

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12527

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    Quote Originally Posted by DingbatCA View Post
    So something like this one? MITSUBISHI FR-D720-042-N7 ?

    I understand that VFD is only good for 4.2A@220V (924W), and my motor can handle 8A@110V(880W) (according to the name plate). But the logic in my brain says the wattage is the same. The FR-D720-042-N7 VFD would work and be able to drive my spindle to 100%???? Assuming I feed the VFD a proper 220V. Did I get that right?
    You have to focus on the input current rating of the VFD Drive, this needs to be 1.73 x greater than your spindle amps of a 1.5Kw on 120v is 10A minimum x 1.73=17.3 plus the safety factor / code requirement 125%=21.6 Amps are required to run your spindle on 120v supply

    So Input current rating of the VFD Drive not the output for single phase input whether this is for 120v or 240v single phase supply
    Mactec54

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12527

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    Quote Originally Posted by DingbatCA View Post
    So something like this one? MITSUBISHI FR-D720-042-N7 ?

    I understand that VFD is only good for 4.2A@220V (924W), and my motor can handle 8A@110V(880W) (according to the name plate). But the logic in my brain says the wattage is the same. The FR-D720-042-N7 VFD would work and be able to drive my spindle to 100%???? Assuming I feed the VFD a proper 220V. Did I get that right?
    Look at the input amps on this VFD is only 6.6a @ 220v a small fraction of what you will need the normal is 1Hp to 2Hp larger than the motor Hp for single phase but it all revolves around the input current rating of the VFD Drive
    Mactec54

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    83

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    Thanks for the good info. Now to find a VFD with the proper spec's that I can afford.

  14. #14
    Company Representative
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4067

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    Quote Originally Posted by DingbatCA View Post
    Thanks for the good info. Now to find a VFD with the proper spec's that I can afford.
    proper spec's that I can afford
    IT's HARD NOT TO LAUGH. you're going to scam them anyways lol
    XZero cnc

  15. #15
    Company Representative
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    858

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?


  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12527

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    Quote Originally Posted by automationtechinc View Post
    This would not help at all, as his spindle is rated at 110v, it would help if you under stood what the Thread is about, before posting something that would not work
    Mactec54

  17. #17
    Company Representative
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    858

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    Sorry

    if he has a 110V Spindle, he can use 110VAC VFD, This may help

    https://www.automationtechnologiesin...5-110vac-input

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12527

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    Quote Originally Posted by automationtechinc View Post
    Sorry

    if he has a 110V Spindle, he can use 110VAC VFD, This may help

    https://www.automationtechnologiesin...5-110vac-input
    I see you are using my Parameter list on your web page, I can do a more correct Parameter list for you for this VFD Drive, things have changed since I did that Parameter list each VFD Drive model should have it's own listing not all have the same Parameter set
    Mactec54

  19. #19
    Company Representative
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    858

    Re: Suggestions on a 1.5KW 120V VFD?

    You made a lot of contributions to this CNC hobby community @Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Using a 230V VFD with 120V
    By ravix in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-11-2017, 08:22 PM
  2. Do spindles run on 120V?
    By Merlysys in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-16-2015, 09:49 PM
  3. 200V cooling fan on 120V
    By Skiroy in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2012, 05:00 PM
  4. Yet another 120v to 220v
    By Konstantin in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-24-2006, 08:57 PM
  5. 120V Stepper - how can it be driven?
    By andy_ck87028 in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-17-2005, 09:16 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •