585,994 active members*
4,881 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > Surely - surely someone has done it? Yes - prey tell me. High Speed GB for 2.2kw Spin

Surely - surely someone has done it? Yes - prey tell me. High Speed GB for 2.2kw Spin

Hi. Im not a newbie. I am though, a newbie to commercial manufacture of a bunch of parts using my awesome home build machine that bores my children, and puts me in the shed for hours at a time.

I am an aircraft engineer. One of the stages of that career (dont do it anymore its not that cool to work on aircraft) was working in the powerplant rebuild workshop. We used to take a 44000RPM gas turbine, low torque high RPM output, and wack that either by gas coupling or straight into the gearbox. The gearbox was a planetary style, that would take that singing RPM all the way down to 1384. The smallest turbine I worked with, its little first stage hot wheel, was only about 140mm in diameter. We would get 1000HP at the prop.

Has anyone seen, purchased, or built a gearbox to take the 24000RPM spindle output of the most common 2.2kw spindle, and taken it down to something more usable? It would decrease the speed, heighten the torque, and just makes things so much better! And what would something like that cost to manufacture on mass?

I would love to hear from you if you know about this? I am thinking I might build one, but my machining skills are not the best...... I might try. I might try to buy one too. Ha

Re: Surely - surely someone has done it? Yes - prey tell me. High Speed GB for 2.2kw

Hi,
    yes you could use a gearbox, at the cost of frictional losses.

Another way is to uses multi-pole motors.

A typical Chinese 2.2kW spindle has 6 poles, arranged as two poles (a pair) for each of it three phases. Depending on where you are in the world that would