589,390 active members*
6,342 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    10

    TNC 370 tool length MDI confusion

    Hi everyone

    First point. Its me that is confused. Not the control. Well I hope anyway.

    We picked up a old (97) Bridgeport VMC 500 with a TNC370 control a few months back. Its taken a while to get to a point where it is ready to use. One big issue and that is me learning to use it and set it up!!

    It seems if you are a HASS owner then there are thousands of threads and videos. Not so much for Heidenhain.

    This quick question is hopefully a simple one.

    I was setting some tool lengths yesterday, by using a datum tool holder, zeroing it out on tool setter. Had called tool 0 in the MDI mode then switched to manual mode.

    Did a tool change to get tool 1 in the spindle. I measured this and set the z value in the tool table (+54mm for example).

    I then did another tool call in MDI mode to bring tool 1 details up. Swapping back to manual mode to just clarify the readings were correct, I was hoping to see the actual z value to be 0, when zero setter was at zero taking into account the. tool length offset. This wasn't the case as is still showed 54mm.

    Either Im expecting the machine to do something its not going to do, or I am doing something wrong. Or even possibly both.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Dan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Hi Dan, you'll need to change your machine parameter MP7285 from 0 to 1, the display will then take into account the tool length. Code for accessing parameters is 95148. Good luck!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    10

    Re: TNC 370 tool length MDI confusion

    Hi Chris. Just seen your reply. I will give that a try. Thanks for the help. If possible could I pick your brains on a couple of other things I have come across if you would mind.

    Thanks Dan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2024
    Posts
    1

    Re: TNC 370 tool length MDI confusion

    Quote Originally Posted by Yorkshire Chris View Post
    Hi Dan, you'll need to change your machine parameter MP7285 from 0 to 1, the display will then take into account the tool length. Code for accessing parameters is 95148. Good luck!
    I've exactly the same issue, but on a Bridgeport 412x with a TNC2500 controller. I've read the parameters list for a TNC2500 controller (online here https://archive.org/details/Heidenha...p?view=theater) but can't seem to find a parameter that fixes this - any suggestions?
    I'd be surprised if there isn't a way to get it to display the tool compensated z height, it's rather annoying to drive without it.

Similar Threads

  1. Tool length offset table in combination with undefined tool
    By extrapilot in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-01-2018, 01:33 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-27-2015, 10:04 PM
  3. Tool Holder Confusion
    By W00dM@n in forum CNC Tooling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-25-2014, 08:46 AM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-23-2013, 05:46 PM
  5. OSP-U10L tool offset confusion
    By brokenrinker in forum Okuma
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-10-2009, 04:22 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •