504,049 active members
4,056 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    80

    Question Tool Diameter Offset adjustment

    In many programs I take multiple passes to get to a finish size. I am running a NCT204 controller which runs a Fanuc Macro B controller.
    For simplicity sake -
    If I want to machine a circle to 100mmD with a lead in and out I would do the following.

    #101=100.00 (circ diam.)
    #102=#101/2
    #103=20.00 (tool offset #) - 20mm diam)
    G0 X0 Y-50.00
    G41 G1 X0 Y0 D#103
    G2 X0 Y#101 R[#101/2]
    G2 X0 Y0 R[#101/2}
    G40 G1 X0 Y-50.00

    on previous machines (not fanuc macro b) to increase the tool compensation to take a larger pass of 2mm I would add a 'Q' value after 'G41'

    #101=100.00 (circ diam.)
    #102=#101/2
    #103=20.00 (tool offset #) - 20mm diam)
    G0 X0 Y-50.00
    G41 G1 X0 Y0 D#103 Q2.00
    G2 X0 Y#101 R[#101/2]
    G2 X0 Y0 R[#101/2}
    G40 G1 X0 Y-50.00

    How do I do something similar on Fanuc Macro B controllers?
    the best ive found as a work around (which isnt quite a pain) is to call
    G10 L13 P#103 R22.00
    and change the tool offset table to tell the controller the tool diameter is larger than what it actually is.
    however after this I need to change this back as this variable will remain after the program is finished.

    Any Ideas?

    Thankyou

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6021

    Re: Tool Diameter Offset adjustment

    Not sure I understand why you would do this? The roughing cycle doesn't work for you?

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    80

    Re: Tool Diameter Offset adjustment

    Its rather irrelevant why i would do something. And what do you mean by roughing cycle. I work with timber. nothing is cad cam based and everything is purpose built codes for a specific task for the business.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    248

    Re: Tool Diameter Offset adjustment

    since you are working with macro's i might try something like this

    #101=100.00 (circ diam.)
    #102=#101/2
    #103=20.00 (tool offset #) - 20mm diam)
    #104=2.000(offset amount)

    G0 X0 Y-50.00
    G41 G1 X0 Y0 D#103
    G2 X0 Y[#101+#104] R[[#101/2]+[#104/2]]
    G2 X0 Y0 R[[#101/2]+[#104/2]]
    G40 G1 X0 Y-50.00

    This #104 can be done thru the program or could be added at the macro #104 on the offset page to change it with out altering the program
    you could also just alter the D#103 TOOL OFFSET by the 2mm offset and leave the program alone

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    80

    Re: Tool Diameter Offset adjustment

    the code attached is for simplicity. When i have a code with multiple radius, spring points, and varing thicknesses - i cannot simply adjust the radius as per the offset amount. it will give an incorrect shape. Altering the tool offset is 'dangerous' because if i fail to remember to reset the value back to its 'correct' value, the next program i run with the same tool/offset will be incorrect. I am looking for a command or way to adjust the overcut size for this program only. so after wards everything is back to how it should be.
    At the moment my work around is to call 'G10 L13 P23 R2.00' before the interpolation occurs, and then at the end of the program recall "G10 L13 P23 R0.00" to put it back to the original state.
    In numerous machines ive worked with i can simply add a "Q" value after the offset commands 'G41/42" which will offset the tool the specified amount. Once G40 is called to end the offset, everything returns to normal - even if G41/42 is called again.

    If Fanuc doesnt have this capability I will just have to call the G10 command to start and finish the program (which is annoying as its more code, and with multiple tools becomes alot of extra mucking around)

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6021

    Re: Tool Diameter Offset adjustment

    It's quite relevant, and a roughing cycle has nothing to do with cad cam, but with that attitude forget it.

    Sent from my SM-T813 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    80

    Re: Tool Diameter Offset adjustment

    Not sure I understand why you would do this? Your outward perception is but your inward reflection. Enjoy your poor attitude.

Similar Threads

  1. Macro for tool diameter offset
    By allenp in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-10-2018, 06:38 PM
  2. Centroid Tool diameter offset
    By japco43 in forum Centroid CNC Control Products
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2017, 08:49 PM
  3. how to set tool diameter offset number
    By allenp in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-03-2016, 10:46 PM
  4. Changing tool diameter in the tool offset screen
    By Vern Smith in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-24-2008, 03:54 PM
  5. Hi all, Tool diameter offset question.
    By chad123 in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-14-2008, 08:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •