534,927 active members*
2,763 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 40
  1. #1

    Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    How about a "Post your wish list" thread?

    My wish list is just for the lathes....

    Dear, Santa (Tormach)

    Please fix the extra coolant pump running at the end of every program. I'm going to throw my back or hip out doing a pelvic thrust every time it kicks on at the end.

    Conversational Tab Default Name! When writing a program and I click on the OD Turn tab, the Title name could be one of many things. When I first got the lathe, over a year ago, I accidentally typed in "PArt" (it was for a parting operation, just accidentally capitalized the A).....that Title name still shows up on random Tab's Title, not just the OD Turn tab. I would like to see all of the Titles default to the Tab's name. OD Turn, ID Turn, Face, etc. If there is a button to select two options (Groove/Part), have the Title default to the button selected.

    Couple more that I will put words to and add later. Below is a picture of an O.D. profile using a parting/grooving tool that has two dog legs that I would like to see removed. I'll explain better later on.


  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    645

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    I think you better forget about lathe updates, look like they don't care anymore

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1999

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffrey001 View Post
    I think you better forget about lathe updates, look like they don't care anymore
    I would think with new model coming out they would still develop the pp lathe section.
    I hope so because Im thinking about buying one this next year.

    After they enhanced the run from here menu. I have mostly just enjoyed using the program.. I do everything in cam so I dont see issues that others see in conversational sections.

    I guess if I could wish it would be 4th axis homing that works with a hal position magnet. It shows this as an option but I cant figure out how to make it useful or even work the way I think it should anyway

  4. #4
    *Registered User*
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    80

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    I wish PP had a radius milling feature. It would also be nice to be able to mill a slot starting outside the part instead of in the middle. ( keyways)

    Dave

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    645

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    Just a DXF import for the lathe would be great

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    645

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    When you do threading on the lathe, why no metric thread yet.
    Why the only material you can select is aluminum or plastic.

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3065

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffrey001 View Post
    When you do threading on the lathe, why no metric thread yet.
    Why the only material you can select is aluminum or plastic.
    PP has metric lathe threading in the Conversational Wizards - I've used it recently to cut standard Imperial, metric, and femaile NPT threads.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    380

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffrey001 View Post
    When you do threading on the lathe, why no metric thread yet.
    They have metric threading in conversational, as already mentioned. You just have to do MDI G20 or G21 to change between imperial and metric. As far as I've found, you can't get imperial threads in conversational if your lathe is set to metric or vice versa.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    380

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    My wish would be to be able to select which way to cut when doing chamfers, either towards the chuck or towards the face of the part. As it is now, it only cuts towards the face of the part.

  10. #10

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    Something I ran into today that would help when deep drilling. Progressively smaller peck drilling!

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    955

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    You can program for a progressive peck drilling but it is a bit clumsy. Same with a peck G84 cycle for tappng. Just a bit clumsy but is teh Cats meow for low HP spindles with larger taps or harden materials to tap. Or deep holes to drill as you need. Hopefully Tormach will come to the rescue.

    (;-) TP

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    149

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    Quote Originally Posted by vmax549 View Post
    You can program for a progressive peck drilling but it is a bit clumsy.

    (;-) TP
    It depends what you call clumsy. Here is the subroutine that I've used for drilling for the past few years. Its logic should be evident, but I'll help anyone who has questions.
    Code:
    o <hole_drill> sub
        ; drill a hole
        ; current as of 2020-05-06
        ; Oh 2010-2024
        ; input
        ;    #<_CBEscalation>     from options
        ;    #<_ChipBreakFactor>  from options
        ;    #<_CoolantEndRough>
        ;    #<_DeepTestFactor>   from options
        ;    #<_FeedEndRough>
        ;    #<_FMinFactor>       from options
        ;    #<_FReduction>       from options
        ;    #<_HelixAngle>
        ;    #<_ODToBottom>
        ;    #<_OldA>
        ;    #<_PeckMinFactor>    from options
        ;    #<_PeckReduction>    from options
        ;    #<_PointAngle>
        ;    #<_RetractionLimit>  from options
        ;    #<_ShowProgress>
        ;    #<_SMinFactor>       from options
        ;    #<_SpeedEndRough>
        ;    #<_SReduction>       from options
        ;    #<_ToolOD>           from <set_tool>
        ;    #<_ToolRadius>       from <set_tool>
        ;    #<_MinutesHere>
        ;    #<_TotalMinutes>
        ;    #<_XCenter>
        ;    #<_YCenter>
        ;    #<_ZBottom>
        ;    #<_ZClear>
        ;    #<_ZTop>
    
        #<FluteUpPerRev> = [3.14159 * #<_ToolOD> / tan[#<_HelixAngle>]]
        #<ZBot>          = [#<_ZBottom>]
        o 2010 if [#<_ODToBottom>]
          #<ZBot> = [#<ZBot> - #<_ToolRadius> / tan[#<_PointAngle> / 2]]
        o 2010 endif
        #<MaxPeck>       = [#<_DeepTestFactor> * #<_ToolOD>]
        #<MinPeck>       = [#<_PeckMinFactor> * #<_ToolOD>]
        #<ChipBreak>     = [#<_ChipBreakFactor> * #<_ToolOD>]
        #<MinFeed>       = [#<_FMinFactor> * #<_FeedEndRough>]
        #<MinRPM>        = [#<_SMinFactor> * #<_SpeedEndRough>]
        #<Depth>         = [#<_ZTop> - #<ZBot>]
        #<ZMaxRetract>   = [#<_ZTop> - #<_RetractionLimit> * #<_ToolOD>]
    
        #<InchProg> = 0                                                    ; progress increments
        o 2012 if [#<_ShowProgress>]                                       ; ..
            #<ProgressHere> = [100 * #<_MinutesHere> / #<_TotalMinutes>]   ; ..
            #<InchProg> = [#<ProgressHere> / #<Depth>]                     ; ..
        o 2012 endif                                                       ; ..
    
        #<Peck> = [#<MaxPeck>]                           ; initial values
        #<Feed> = [#<_FeedEndRough>]                     ; ..
        #<RPM> = [#<_SpeedEndRough>]                     ; ..
        F [#<Feed>] S [#<RPM>]                           ; needed before starting spindle
        #<Pecks> = 0                                     ; just for DEBUG message
        G00 Z [#<_ZClear>]                               ; start above work
        G00 X [#<_XCenter>] Y [#<_YCenter>]              ; get ready to cut
        o <coolant> call [#<_CoolantEndRough>]           ; coolant
        M3                                               ; spindle on
    
        G01 Z [#<_ZTop>]                                 ; G01 to allow imprecise ZTop
        #<ZReached> = [#<_ZTop>]                         ; ..
        o 2014 while [#<ZReached> GT #<ZBot>]             ; *peck again
            F [#<Feed>] S [#<RPM>]                       ; different from previous peck
            G00 Z [#<ZReached>]                          ; back to uncut metal
    
            ; drill down by one peck, or less if that would overshoot bottom
            #<UsePeck> = [#<Peck>]
           o 2016 if [[#<ZReached> - #<Peck>] LT #<ZBot>]    ; *overshot
                 #<UsePeck> = [#<ZReached> - #<ZBot>]         ; ..
           o 2016 endif                                      ; .. UsePeck now OK
           (debug, usepeck = #<UsePeck>)
           G01 Z [#<ZReached> - #<UsePeck>] A [#<_OldA> + #<UsePeck> * #<InchProg>]
           #<ZReached> = [#<ZReached> - #<UsePeck>]     ; ..
           #<_OldA> = [#<_OldA> + #<UsePeck> * #<InchProg>]
           #<Pecks> = [#<Pecks> + 1]                    ; just for DEBUG message
    
           ; dwell long enough for chips to ride the flutes to the surface
           #<RevsToSurface> = [[#<_ZTop> - #<ZReached>] / #<FluteUpPerRev>]
           #<Dwell> = [60 * #<RevsToSurface> / #<RPM>]
           (DEBUG, after peck #<Pecks>: dwell #<Dwell> seconds at Z = #<ZReached>)
           G04 P [#<Dwell>]                             ; wait for chips
    
           ; retract to break the chip, but not too high
           #<ZChipBreak> = [#<ZReached> + #<ChipBreak>] ; tentative
           o 2018 if [#<ZChipBreak> GT #<ZMaxRetract>]  ; *too high
               #<ZChipBreak> = [#<ZMaxRetract>]          ; .. use limit
           o 2018 endif                                 ; ZChipBreak set
           G00 Z [#<ZChipBreak>]                        ; break the chip
    
           ; peck less deeply, run slower, retract more
           #<Peck> = [#<_PeckReduction> * #<Peck>]      ; adjust peck
           o 2020 if [#<Peck> LT #<MinPeck>]            ; ..
               #<Peck> = [#<MinPeck>]                   ; ..
           o 2020 endif                                 ; ..
           #<Feed> = [#<_FReduction> * #<Feed>]         ; adjust feed
           o 2022 if [#<Feed> LT #<MinFeed>]            ; ..
               #<Feed> = [#<MinFeed>]                   ; ..
           o 2022 endif                                 ; ..
           #<RPM> = [#<_SReduction> * #<RPM>]           ; adjust RPM
           o 2024 if [#<RPM> LT #<MinRPM>]              ; ..
               #<RPM> = [#<MinRPM>]                     ; ..
           o 2024 endif                                 ; ..
           #<ChipBreak> = [#<_CBEscalation> * #<ChipBreak>]
        o 2014 endwhile                                   ; end of one peck
        G00 Z [#<_ZClear>]                               ; finish above work
    
        M5 M9                                            ; spindle & coolant off
     o <hole_drill> endsub                                    ; return to caller

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    117

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    Optional block skip. It's rare that I need it but those couple of times, it would have been really handy.

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    955

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    Here is a simple sample of a deep hole variable peck drilling function.

    (o911 )
    G0 X0 Y0 Z0
    G1 X5 Y5 F35

    G83 Z-1 R.050 Q.1 F10
    Z0 R.050
    Z-1.5 R-1.00 Q.050 F10
    Z0 R.050
    Z-2 R-1.5 Q.025 F10
    Z0 R.050
    Z-2.5 R-2.00 Q.010 F10
    Z0 R.050
    G80
    M30

    Just a thought , (;-) TP

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1999

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    I would like an easy way to return the 24r router to the ets location. Moving the gantry out of the way to set next project up. I use the button on the ets page to do this now. It works but you have to leave main screen making for a number of tab selections before you get to the tab with ets location button.
    keyboard shortcut or something like that would work fine. I would hesitate cluttering the main operation screen with any more buttons or controls.
    It is annoying to stand there and rapid the machine out of the way with keyboard or puck. Also it is a programed return to that location.
    This makes the process safer because it automatically raises z to a clearance height before the 1-4 ft move. The mill only needs to raise to tool change height and its out of the way most the time.

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    955

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    PP does have a return home Gcode function have you tried that ?? Or perhaps use teh G30.1 function to record teh position you want to go to then use G30 to go there ?? Teh G28 is settable as well . Move to the position you want then G28.1. It records that position for you to return to same as G30/G30.1

    G28 Z0 ( raises Z to home)
    G28 ( moves XY to home)

    Just a thought , (;-) TP

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1999

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    Quote Originally Posted by vmax549 View Post
    PP does have a return home Gcode function have you tried that ?? Or perhaps use teh G30.1 function to record teh position you want to go to then use G30 to go there ?? Teh G28 is settable as well . Move to the position you want then G28.1. It records that position for you to return to same as G30/G30.1

    G28 Z0 ( raises Z to home)
    G28 ( moves XY to home)

    Just a thought , (;-) TP
    Home is the other way
    The router post and code is designed around the g30 and g30.1 for setting tool heights. Super easy to use all the tools you want in a single program. And this works at the end of a program to get gantry out of way.
    When working at machine and setting offsets its handy to move gantry out of way with just a button press. I use the one on the ets setup page now and it works fine.
    Typing commands or even midi history is more steps. I use a touch screen and don't even use keyboard that much.

    I could also use a remote control with ability to move x,y,z axis and also zero them without going to touch screen. Talk about extra steps "with your feet"
    I didnt like other router designs because they were kind of dependent on such things. now I see why!

    Anyway thanks for the ideas

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    955

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    I would have suggested a simply Hotkey. But they are not simple to setup in PP and you are using a touchscreen. But they do work very well here.

    (;-)TP

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    955

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    I WISH that in PP when you select a toolpath View say ISO that it would STAY in iso instead of switch back to top view all teh time . That selection needs to be a sticky (;-) At a minimum ithere needs to be a default selection that the user can setup.

    AND is there a way to turn OFF that silly grid system ???

    (;-) TP

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    149

    Re: Tormach - PP Update Wish List

    My meta-wish for PathPilot is that any status known to the engine should be accessible in gCode.

    For example, PathPilot doesn't automatically know when I have shifted the belt to change my 770 from the low-speed range to the high-speed range. That's OK; the screen UI lets me tell PP what range the machine is in. But once PathPilot knows (or thinks it knows) what speed range is in effect, my gCode programs should (presumably through a #54xx variable) be able to know that too. The status accessible to gCode programs should include the positions of all the sliders and the status indicated by LEDs (step size, speed range, etc). In addition, there are a few obscure settings (subsettings of G64, for example) that are sticky but unreadable. That is, gCode can set them, but a gCode subroutine can't save them, set its own values, and then restore the old values. Why not?

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Tormach 2200 Professional CNC - your dream list
    By CadRhino in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 113
    Last Post: 05-02-2018, 10:59 PM
  2. Tormach lathe update soon!
    By Wog in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-16-2012, 03:42 AM
  3. New Tormach Digitizing Probe Calibration Update
    By twocik in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-09-2012, 10:51 PM
  4. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-16-2011, 04:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •